Diva Cup Revisited

A while back, we did a brief post about a product called The Diva Cup. But it was kinda dry and lacking in any sort of testimonial. A lot of the comments we received on this particular post were curious as to how effective, awkward, or safe this product was, and we never really addressed those questions! A couple of the OAM ladies are only familiar with this particular brand, though there are many similar products available like the Mooncup, Fleurcup or the slightly less eco-friendly Instead Softcup.

 

They are all relatively similar products, so it’s just about finding what’s right for you! But let’s be real for a second, before you drop your cold hard cash on a product like this, you probably have a couple questions!

A-ight, let’s do this.

The comments on our previous article was either questions or praise of the products, nothing negative! If someone didn’t like a particular brand, they just recommended a different one they liked better, but it seems that anyone who has tried out a menstrual cup prefers it to tampons.

Here are some questions I can answer for you!

  • Can you REALLY leave them in for 12 hours?

Yes. Assuming that you don’t fill it up beforehand. On days when I have an especially heavy flow, I’ll take it out closer to every 6 hours, but on lighter days I’ve left my cup in for 12 hours without a problem.

  • Can you take a spin class wearing it?

I have not worn it to a spin class, so I can’t really answer this one. BUT I’ve worn it while riding a bike and it was fine. Although it was a pretty short bike ride, so take that with a grain of salt.

  • How do you get it in/take it out?!

There are instructions that tell you how to fold up your Diva Cup to properly insert it. Suffice it to say that, in order to get a good enough grip on the cup to spin it (creating the “seal” it describes on the package) you’ll likely have breach the honey pot, if you know what I’m saying. Not really far in or anything, but inside nonetheless.

There’s a part on the base of the cup that’s meant for you to pinch in order to remove it. I’ll admit, the angle in which I need my hand to be in order to grab the cup can sometimes make my thumb muscle cramp up.

  • Would you recommend this product?

HELL YEAH! It’s awesome! If I’m going on a trip, I only need to bring this one item with me instead of a whole BOX of tampons! You won’t “run out” of Diva Cup. It’s safe, it’s effective, it doesn’t dry you out AND I’m not running to bathroom every 2 hours like I suddenly have the world’s tiniest bladder! It’s AMAZING!

It does take a little getting used to! Once you figure out how to properly insert the cup, you’re golden. If it’s not in straight, it can lead to some leakage. I would recommend using a liner anyways, but you only need one for the whole day, so you’re still being much kinder to the environment than if you used other disposable products.

Hope that answers some of your misgivings!

Shout out to onceamonth4ladies@gmail.com with any more questions or comments!

xo,
Bryce

Bryce

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Diva Cup Revisited”

  1. Shaina
    February 17, 2015 at 8:33 am #

    I’m so glad you posted this. I was really curious about it after reading about it on Jezebel. I’ve been thinking about trying it out and am glad to know someone that actually uses one and can vouch for it!

What do you think?

