MS150 Is Here!

I’ve been riding my cumbersome hybrid bike around the San Fernando Valley for the past several weeks. Five miles here, 8 miles there, and 15.5 miles at my longest. That last figure should make me a little nervous since I’ll be riding 75 miles each day this Saturday and Sunday! For the second year in a row, I’m participating in the MS150 charity bike ride!

MS150 Bryce_2012

Last year, day 1 was relatively easy. Cool morning, everyone made it to the finish line in good shape (with the exception of 1 knee injury). But day 2 was a whole ‘nother story! It was hot! 92 degrees plus strong headwinds. Sunday started out well enough, but as the day wore on, the temperature went up and the wind got windier. Each pit stop we were in and out! No time to waste!

But we made it!

MS150 Finish line_2012

Team Ten No Trump at the finish line!

My neck muscles and hands were in the worst shape. The hybrid bike I have at home was not the bike I rode for the 150 mile ride (flying a bike across the country wasn’t really feasible). I sit much more up-and-down on my bike, and the borrowed bike for the race had me leaning farther forward, so my neck muscles weren’t used to holding that position! Also, the pressure put on my hands caused my ring and pinkie fingers to lose nerve sensation for several days.

That is hardly going to stop me from challenging myself for a good cause! Team Ten No Trump is back and we are an all-girl team for 2013! And this year, I have gloves!

Now the only thing I’m worried about is the fact that I haven’t ridden very far in a single stint. No matter, there’s no way it will be harder this year than it was last year…right?

If you’d like to donate to the National MS Society
please consider supporting Bryce on her ride.

wish me luck!
Bryce

Bryce Biking

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Healthy Livin', Lady Talk Forum

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pink Party! | Once A Month 4 Ladies - May 25, 2014

    […] Shop! A portion of the sales will automatically be donated, so browse away at awesome kitchen tools, sauces, and spices. […]

What do you think?

