He was a good boy. A good dog. And he will be missed.

On the schedule to be posted today on OnceAmonth4Ladies was something I had written about summer beauty tips. However, I just couldn’t see such a happy, fun post go up on a day that isn’t so happy. 

My family suffered a loss yesterday. I called him my furry nephew and his name was Reese. It’s hard for me to type these words. Tears keep coming and I feel guilty when they stop. I felt it only fitting to write a tribute to one heck of a dog because, well, he deserves it.

My brother, Brian, brought Reese home eight years ago. It’s amazing how much joy that little (actually HUGE) guy brought into our lives.

Just try to look at this picture without saying “awww”.

062509 115

But this is how we will remember him…happy, SO HAPPY, with a ball.

Reese and ball

The death of a pet is tough. When you agree to bring a pet into your life, you’re doing so knowing you’ll survive your pet unless there is some tragedy. Why do we do that to ourselves?! We do it because the happiness and love they bring before the sadness is priceless.

I have grown up having dogs in the house. My family said goodbye to our family dog, Minnie, about three years ago and I still can’t talk about her without crying. She lived 18 years. 18 years! What a happy life she had. And how blessed were we to have her that long. While Reese only graced us with eight years. They were amazing years. He was such a good dog.

  • He was a dog that smiled.
  • He LOVED his daddy.
  • He also loved his grandparents and his auntie Tosha.
  • He was over 100 pounds of dog – a fact that I don’t think he realized. He was always bumping into things or knocking stuff over with his powerful tail. It was hilarious.
  • He was well traveled – thanks to my brother, Brian and his love for road trips and adventure.
  • My mom and him would actually play hide and seek. No joke. It was the funniest thing to watch. He would sit in the living room while my mom hid in another part of the house. Then he would go searching for her. Finding her made him go bananas! He would just hop and gallop around. Then he would stop, go sit in the living room, and wait until the next round would begin.
  • My brother taught him so many cool tricks. They would do their football moves, “pound it”, “go deep”, poop in a bush (don’t ask) and much more.
  • Balls. Balls and tug of war. Balls. Sleep. Food. Treats. Balls. Tug of war. Snuggles. Stealing spots on the couch. Barking. Balls. Adventures with his daddy. Walks. Parks. Tug of war. Balls. Chasing his furry cousin (my dog, Sugar) around the house. Protecting. Balls and tug of war. – the things he loved in life…other than the people in it.

He was such a good boy. We loved that boy.

Reese, you will be missed. Our hearts are a little less full without you here. I hope you’re up in heaven, eating as many treats as you want and chasing an endless supply of balls. Your family down here loves you. We won’t forget you. And can’t wait to see you again.

430604_909096077723_1559914580_n

Love you, boy.

-Aunt Tosha

miss wis 09 139

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Lady Talk Forum, News

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “He was a good boy. A good dog. And he will be missed.”

  1. June 3, 2013 at 8:07 am #

    Sorry for your loss. 😦

  2. June 3, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    oh! no, so sorry for your loss! he looks gorgeous in all those pictures, he was so small and then so big! 🙂 I’ve lost 2 dogs and I understand the pain all of you must be going through right now. It still hurts and will probably hurt for a while. No words to say how sorry I am but at least he will be remembered by all of you and lived a happy life for 8 years! 🙂 (lovely post)

  3. Anonymous
    June 3, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    Thank you Tosha, good words. That was him, my boy, our “Galupa”. I had a hard time getting through this… Read the end under water. Such a slow motion hurt.

  4. Brian Herrman
    June 3, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    Thank you Tosha, good words. That was my boy, our “Galupa”. I had a hard time getting through this… Read the end under water. Such a slow motion hurt.

  5. June 3, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    Thank you Tosha for putting what we feel in our hearts into words. Love you!

What do you think?

