My First Mother’s Day

Well my lovely middle child, Alison,  asked me to write something for the OAM blog from a mother’s perspective.  She “offered” some ideas, but I decided to share a little about my first mother’s day, which happens to be 29 years ago this weekend.

Friday, May 11, 1984 will forever be a wonderous day of my life.  The night before was “busy” one, as my husband and I were to drive car for friends that were getting married on Saturday.  We went to the car wash and cleaned the car….washing the windows etc. getting it clean and sparkly to transport ourfriends. “Nesting” as some friends called it. We went to bed and I was awakened throughout the night thinking I had to go to the bathroom, when unbeknownst to me I was actually having labor pains.  Yeah, I was that “dumb”….lol.  

Well morning came that Friday, and I called in “sick” to work, as I did not sleep well.  My co-workers called to check on me, curious if this was the day.  My brother also was a nervous wreck….stopping in to visit and trying to figure out if he was going to be an uncle or not on this day.  He had to leave for work for second shift, and I had strict orders to call him if I had the baby.  

Then there was my husband who was calling me from work every half an hour.  As my contractions began to get closer throughout the day, the hubby became more and more anxious.  He finally decided to come home and we headed to our local hospital around 3:00 p.m.   Fortunately, I had a fairly “easy” childbirth, and a few minutes before 5:00 p.m. that evening I welcomed our first child, a son Kyle Jonathon.   We were so blessed to have this little man in our lives.  
kyle & mom baseballMom & Kyle at Family Reunion Summer 1984

That Sunday, was my first “official” Mother’s Day, and one I will never forget.  Each Mother’s Day since then, I have remembered the joy I felt that weekend with some sadness in my heart, as it was the only one I had with him.  You see, our little Kyle was taken from us at the age of 7 months by spinal meningitis.   This Mother’s Day weekend we will celebrate Kyle’s 29th birthday, and once again as in every year since, I will remember that first Mother’s Day I welcomed my little boy to this world.  I have since been blessed with three beautiful daughters, and they have filled my life with such joy and pride.  Our family has been blessed to have our guardian angel watching over us all these years through the good and bad.  I look forward to someday watching my daughters become mothers and share in their joys of motherhood, and me of course “grandmahood”.   Happy Mother’s Day 2013 to all you Moms, it is the greatest job I have ever had.

disneyalimomMomma Mary has been married for 31 years and raised 3 brown-eyed girls including OAM’s own Ali.  She enjoys going to Packers and Badgers hockey games and visiting Disney World and her girls on the West Coast as often as she can.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Author:aliberky

A Midwest Gal living in SoCal, blogging at onceamonth4ladies.com and digintolife.wordpress.com about Girls Nights, Food, and More!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “My First Mother’s Day”

  1. May 14, 2013 at 5:36 pm #

    Cute post! One of my good friends celebrated her first Mother’s Day as a mom and currently has another on the way.

What do you think?

