Closet Clarity

Spring is just around the corner and for some of us, that means spring cleaning; a process that feels great…once you’re done. But the process itself can be grueling. Here’s a little tip that I picked up awhile back that helps make the chore of cleaning out my closet a little more bearable.

The sucky part of going through clothes, is that you go through ALL of them and try to remember how long ago it’s been since you put that particular item on. You think you’ve worn it in the past few months, but then again, maybe not. How can you be sure?

It’s quite simple, really.

All you need is a demarcation, something to separate one group of clothes from another. I use an Ikea scarf hanger, but it could be anything you have laying around or a colorful piece of fabric/ribbon that you tie around the rod. 

closet

Start with all of your clothes hanging on one side of the marker, then as you wash and wear your clothes, move them to the other side. Over the next several weeks and months you’ll start to sort the clothes you wear from the clothes you don’t. When the time comes to make more room, you’ll only have to sort through a small portion of your wardrobe! Easy peasy!

Once you have your clothes separated, consider repurposing them, donating them to charity, or perhaps hosting a clothing swap!

xo,
Bryce

Bryce

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Fashion, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Closet Clarity”

  1. Dee Wild
    March 13, 2013 at 8:18 am #

    Great idea!

  2. March 13, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    Here is the one I use: I hang up all my clothes on hangers with the hook part coming at me. When I take a shirt off the hanger, I hang it back up after laundry with the hook going the normal way. Any (non dress) shirts still with the hanger the other way after one year I donate or start to use as work shirts.

    • March 13, 2013 at 10:47 am #

      I’ve heard of that trick too. Do your clothes stay co-mingled?

  3. March 13, 2013 at 10:02 am #

    Reblogged this on the n8ked rose and commented:
    Check out this great post from OnceAMonth4Ladies

  4. March 13, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    I actually use a very similar system! Make sure you get Patrick to adopt this method too 😉

    • March 13, 2013 at 10:45 am #

      I think you’re right. We need to do something about all those old t-shirts of his.

  5. March 13, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    I do this throughout the year. There’s a constant donation pile in our storage closet. My rule is that I can’t buy clothes unless there’s an empty spot for them. Works pretty well! Thanks for the tip though, I’d like to do a big sweep through my closet (and the rest of my apartment) in the next couple months.

  6. her30s
    March 13, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    What a great idea! By the way, my friends and I have yearly clothing swaps and I always walk away with some awesome pieces. We hang out, drink cocktails and try on eachother’s clothes. So fun.

  7. March 14, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    I like

  8. Dana
    March 14, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    I read this rule in a magazine once: If you haven’t worn it in the past year, get rid of it.

    We should do a spring cleaning clothing swap 😉

What do you think?

