Shari’s Sweet Earrings

I got my ears pierced in the 2nd grade. IT was painful, awful, and all throughout elementary school I was never into actually wearing them. I was more of a tom-boy than a girly girl. Or maybe something in the middle? Is there a middle? Boy/Girl. Ha! 

I was the girl in the 4th grade one day sporting Jnco jeans and basketball shoes fashioned over whatever basketball player was cool that year. Another day I’d throw on a cute necklace and a shirt with flowers on it. Either way, I was never an earring girl. All throughout my school years I would sneak into my ma’s jewelry box and pull out one of the stick like sets, put them through the hole – – sometimes forming really sore ears where they had somewhat closed up, and keep my ears pierced so “on my wedding day” I could wear a set of earrings.

319869_10100245021652023_1752242352_n

Then one of my  BFF’s got married my freshmeat year of college. What was her gift to all of us girls… Earrings! Suck it up if you’re a bridesmaid, it’s not for you, it’s for her. I fashioned the crap out of those sparkly things. Immediately after, I removed them.

Kyla - Shawna's Wedding 

I’ve got weird ears. Or so I think. Chunky little bottoms bloops. They are, bloops!

But about 2 years ago one of my girlfriends and I were shopping at Kohls and I found myself loving these black earrings. They were big. giant. black. balls. Love at first site for me and these earrings. Then my BFF from Indiana, (Yes, you can have more than one! Shout out Megan!!!), gave me a pair of banana yellow earring that were her great grandmas. Now this is the same grandma that would tell stories of her days in love with Elvis and how she cried on the night he died. An epic Grandma, needless to say. 🙂 

Now, I’m all about ’em. Meet me at the local thrift store and we can ogle at the big giant beasts from the 80’s, the animal shaped, holiday themed, and the dangling dangles that are homemade. 

Homemade… ahhh, here we are, coming full circle!

Shari’s Dangling Dangles are sooo flipping awesome. I don’t think I’ve taken them out (well only to sleep and shower) since I got them! She’s got an Etsy shop that’s the diggity where she sells things that are upcycled and typically of paper products, thus it’s called Clipped Arts.

ShariFacebookCoverPhoto

The Dangling Dangles are straight up a View Master Slide and super cute!

ClippedArts3

Here’s mine, sporting them on my bloops!

ClippedArts2

Now go get yours!!! xxoooooxxoo- Kyla

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Beauty, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Shari’s Sweet Earrings”

  1. March 13, 2013 at 5:45 am #

    What a strange yet delightful way to reuse something! I am like you – pierced ears and I own no earrings!

  2. sheargeniousfashioneasta
    March 13, 2013 at 6:48 am #

    I love accessorizing. smiles..Fantastic post and earrings! yay!

What do you think?

