My Latest Snack Obsession: Pomegranate Seeds

My first experience with pomegranate seeds was at a New Years Eve party a few years ago when a couple friends pulled out a Ziploc baggie of them and with an excited “watch this!” dropped a few into my glass of sparkling wine.  The seeds sank to the bottom where they garnished my glass and kicked the tiny bubbles into overtime.  Then when my glass was empty I had them for a sweet crunchy treat!  They looked cool and tasted just as good.

But as it turns out pomegranate seeds are good for more than just party tricks and tasty garnishes.  The tiny treats get touted as a ‘superfood’ for being packed full of antioxidants and nutrients. This article from prevention.com compared equal servings of grapes and pomegranate seeds to see which is healthier and helps illustrate what makes those little guys so good for you.  They scored points for being low in sugar and carbs while packing protein, fiber, folate and more.

Lately, whenever I walk over to my neighborhood Trader Joe’s for a gallon of milk or random recipe ingredient I find myself stopping in the produce section and picking up a pomegranate.  Cutting it open at home yields a bowlful of tasty little seeds and a snack that, even when I eat it all myself, makes me feel the opposite of guilty.  A way healthier choice than some of the snacks I’ve grabbed in the past like chips, cookies or Cheez-Its and at about $2 for a pomegranate, cheaper than those, too!

Anybody else have a favorite snack food that’s good for you, too? -Ali

Ali

Tags: , ,

Categories: Healthy Livin', The Spread (Food), Welcome!

Author:aliberky

A Midwest Gal living in SoCal, blogging at onceamonth4ladies.com and digintolife.wordpress.com about Girls Nights, Food, and More!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “My Latest Snack Obsession: Pomegranate Seeds”

  1. February 16, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

    For a fun an extra fun lil’ twist, you could always make dark chocolate- covered pomegranate seeds! I do love pomegranate seeds, though. Oh, and finding them on the bottom of a wine glass? That’s pretty much the.best.

  2. February 16, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    Try serving them as dessert with a pinch of salt on top! to die for ❤

What do you think?

