Mindy Kaling: Writer, Actress, Role Model, and Totally Normal Woman?

I recently read Mindy Kaling’s book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and I laughed. Heartily. Ms. Kaling also has a new show this season called “The Mindy Project,” to which I also laugh. Heartily. (The part in the pilot where she’s drunkenly riding a bike down the road yelling “I’m Sandraaaa Bullooooock!” got a good chuckle out of me.) 

It is for these two reasons that I’ve decided to write a post about this awesome female entertainer.

The Mindy Project

Anyone who has seen an episode of “The Office” knows that Mindy Kaling’s voice and character of Kelly Kapoor makes her seem like a total ditz. After reading her book, however, it would seem this is not at all the case. Sure she has a high-pitched voice, she likes shopping, and generally enjoys “girly” things, but this girl graduated from Dartmouth and was an Executive Producer for “The Office” as well the writer of 25 and director of 2 episodes. Reading her book felt a lot like listening to a talkative friend. It reads like how (I’m guessing) her speaking voice sounds. There are random musings and various stories about her life in the industry, but she comes off as a pretty normal (though slightly dramatic) comedy-loving girl who grew up in the suburbs with normal (still married) parents and a brother. I think many females out there who read her book would find themselves doing what I did at many points: nodding in agreement thinking “Yep. That pretty much happened to me too.” I mean, up until the part where she goes to an Ivy League school and then becomes very famous. And yet, descriptions of her workplace felt very familiar to me.

Now she is the creator, writer, and lead actress of “The Mindy Project” which airs on Fox Tuesdays at 9:30/8:30c.

Sidebar: I would just like to say, the four of us have mad respect for the people that can fulfill all those roles (and sometimes more if you’re Lena Dunham) whether they’re a man or woman. But I love Tina Fey the most! (seriously though, read Bossypants.)

Okay, back to “The Mindy Project.” Kaling plays Dr. Mindy Lahiri, an OB/GYN who co-owns a medical practice with two other doctors (played by Chris Messina and Ed Weeks). Lahiri comes off as a doctor version of Kaling herself, which shouldn’t seem to weird because it is supposedly inspired by her mother’s experiences as an OB/GYN. But I don’t mind that cuz she seems pretty cool! She’s smart, successful, fashionable, and knows how to give a good verbal bitch-slap. But what I love more about her character is that she seems like a bit of a hot mess. She’s a lot like your average modern-day working woman. She doesn’t have all her shit together, her life isn’t perfect and she’s trying to get all her ducks in a row. There’s work, friends, weird co-workers, and trying to find a dating life, but comedy ensues when things go awry! (usually with Morgan the nurse! I think he’s funny.)

What I love MOST about Lahiri (and thus Kaling herself) is her normal sized body. Look at her! She is a beautiful woman!

Mindy Kaling

She has no problem mentioning her figure either and not in a self-deprecating way, but in a “That’s just how I am!” kind of way. And I personally love it! She’s not your average stick-thin white lady that you see everywhere in TV/Film and I think she’s an excellent role model for young women!

For the ladies out there, check out her show and tell me what you think. My husband put it this way “She knows her audience. And I don’t think I’m it.”

xo,
Bryce

bryce

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Entertainment, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Mindy Kaling: Writer, Actress, Role Model, and Totally Normal Woman?”

  1. December 14, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    I love love love Mindy Project! And I just finished reading her book too! I love her quirky sense of humor and the fact that she is comfortable with who she is (flaws and all!). Definitely a must-watch on Tuesday nights!

  2. December 14, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    I’m just starting to get into The Mindy Project. It was slow going at first, but I really enjoyed the Christmas Episode. Wish she would stop in and visit The Office, though. One of my favorite shows is really sagging in its last year and could use a pop in from an old friend… 🙂

  3. December 14, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    She is hysterical! I don’t watch any of her new shows because I don’t seem to have much time for TV these days, but loved her in 40-Year-Old Virgin. She is a riot, and definitely awesome.

  4. kendraalyse
    December 15, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    I just started watching The Mindy Project myself since I love this actress. I had no idea that she had accomplished all of this. I’m really proud of her, and think that she is one of the sexiest women out there for keeping it real when it comes to body image. Her show makes me laugh out loud which is hard to do with most comedic shows, so I’m all in. Thanks for sharing these bits about her. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Curvier Side of Hollywood, Take 2 | Once A Month 4 Ladies - July 26, 2013

    […] Weekly listed Mindy Kaling as one of the most powerful women in comedy and this was before she had her own TV show on NBC that she writes for, stars in, and produces/directs. Also not your prototypical twiggy white […]

What do you think?

