Hometown Hotspots: Bryce

I grew up in a suburb of Minneapolis called Coon Rapids, Minnesota. It sounds like I grew up out in the sticks, doesn’t it?! I assure you this is not the case. Sure I grew up in “Suburbia” with a population of around 60,000 people, but I was only a 20 minute drive from a major city center. Let me just say though, there is not much to actually do within the city limits of Coon Rapids because it is almost entirely residential property. Thus 3 of the 4 things I like to do when I go home are actually not in my home town. I hope you overlook this technicality, but if not, you’ll just have to DEAL!

Drinks: Psycho Suzi’s Motor Lounge

“Psycho’s” is the best tiki bar I have ever been to (sorry Tiki No). Their first location was inside an old converted A&W Root Beer franchise, but they have since moved to a bigger locale with a HUGE patio. Featured on “Dinners, Drive-ins, and Dives” for their rum raisin pizza, this place has great food. We usually order a variety of appetizers that resemble  food you can get at the State Fare (ie: cheese curds, red rockets [mini corn dogs], deviled eggs, and the Minnesota favorite, pickle roll-ups ) but the real draw is the drinks! You have no idea what’s in any of them, just how alcoholic they are thanks to a little symbol of a dancing Tiki man. The more clothes he has on, the less toxic the cocktail. And each comes in it’s own signature cup that matches the drinks name. Examples include: the One Eyed Willy, the Fu Manchu, and the Leilani’s Fire Bowl, which, in fact, on fire.

Having a Relaxing Day Out: Walker Art Center Sculpture Garden & Uptown

Site of the “Spoon Bridge and Cherry” the Walker is only $12 to visit but the accompanying sculpture garden is free to walk through. It also happens to be on the way to Uptown from my parents’ house. This is an area of Minneapolis that has great restaurants, trendy stores, art house theaters, and one of my favorite coffee shops called Uncommon Grounds.

Shopping: Maurices

I make a point to do some clothes shopping pretty much every time I go home. #1, because there is no sales tax on clothes in MN. #2, they carry the only pair of jeans that I can just walk-in, pick up my size and I KNOW they will fit perfectly. I have been buying the same style of jeans for years. And #3, they don’t have this chain out in the Los Angeles area.

Sporting Event: Baseball or Hockey

Depending on the time of year and whether they are home or away, I make every effort to catch either the Twins at Target Field or University of MN – Twin Cities Gopher Hockey at Mariucci Arena.

Looking forward to going home in just a couple of weeks to hit up some of my favorite spots!

Happy Holidays!
Bryce

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Entertainment, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Hometown Hotspots: Bryce”

  1. December 6, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    Love your blog!!! Nominated you for a couple of awards http://ourlifeinaction.wordpress.com/2012/12/06/beautiful-blogger-and-liebster-awards/

What do you think?

