Our Favorite Things: Kitchen Edition – Kyla’s Picks

What we love in the kitchen. Holy Buckets!!!

Every time I’m cooking or baking I tell myself… I need to tell our readers this! Ahh! I have a weird fascination with tools in the kitchen that I can’t live without.

Requirements to make my list:

-Must make the job easier. Working 12 hours a day – we NEED easy!
-Must be something that is reasonably priced for everyone’s budget.
-Must be awesome.

1. Crock Pot

Some of my friends at work DO NOT own a crockpot. I can’t believe it. Maybe it’s because it’s more of a midwest thing? But I can’t live without mine! I’m also pretty sure that between the 4 of us gals we’ve got over 8 crockpots, small, medium, and supersized! How do you think we can make so many delicious things for our events?! 

Best thing about having a crockpot – put the items in to cook and walk away! I love to use mine for soups mostly. Cooking on low, makes everything a little bit easier and really gets the flavors moving! Not to mention we’ve made ciders, lattes, and other beverages! 

2. Griddle

Alright cooking for 2, it’s convenient. If I had a family of 5, it would make things SO easy. Grilled cheese, pancakes, hash browns, eggs… basically everything at once. No need to cook one pancake at a time, this sucker gets the job done ALL AT ONCE! 

3. Kitchen Scissors

When I was in college, never used them. Even when I was growing up I can’t remember my Mom using them either. But today, I’ve got 3 pairs in the kitchen at all times. Cutting meat, cutting veggies, opening food packages, BACON! Okay, I love to cook bacon by cutting it FIRST. Holy crap has it made life sooo much easier. I was always a cook then crumble person. No more! Woot! Haha… Get some scissors if you don’t have any. Promise you will love them.

4. Cookie Scoop

Made cookies with Tosha. She didn’t have one. Flat out, Merry Christmas Tosha! This little booger can make all of your cookies one size!  Not to mention it takes less time then making a whole bunch of cookies by spooning them out one by one, or rolling balls. Just trust me. 

AND I use this little guy for biscuits too! All my biscuits are one size. Wait for it… PANCAKES! My mom could never figure out how I got all my pancakes one size, I showed her this trick! IT works! 

5. Ball Jar

This is my newest favorite addition. Not only are ball jars great for canning, you can use them on several occasions within the kitchen. We drink out of ball jars. Add the lid, put it in the fridge and it’s the perfect “water bottle” for a hot day! 

Grease. Everyone never knows what to do with left over grease (from your newly cut bacon pieces!)… put it in a jar and bring it out for green beans, gravy, or when you’re making another dish that you use grease for! This goes the same for the turkey stock after Thanksgiving! Pour it in, put it the fridge and save it for when you’re ready to make some soup!

SOUP! I made a crockpot full of soup. Too much for a party of two! So I took some over to my gal Tosha. Scoop it in the ball jar, cap it, and wrap it in aluminum foil. This sucker stays HOT the whole way. Not to mention you don’t have to worry about it spilling over during travel! 

You can also use the bigger ball jars in place of tupperware. It’s pretty nifty. Now go get some!

I feel like a infomercial. But really, I hope this makes your kitchen experience more enjoyable. 🙂

XO – Kyla

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Our Favorite Things: Kitchen Edition – Kyla’s Picks”

  1. December 4, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    The scoop and the bell jar’s I will have to check out. I do always find it amazing that people don’t own a crockpot. They are great for cooking well so many things. I make all my stews, soups, roasts, and even a few other dishes in mine. It, besides my oven is my best appliance. I recently moved and lost my kitchen shears. This is a great tragedy to me. It’s on the list, you know that list you never remember when you go shopping but every day I reach for them.

  2. December 4, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    I would like to have the #5 Ball Jar and of course the #1Crock Pot: I don’t own one either! I really need to consider getting one asap 🙂 thanks for sharing these! 🙂

  3. December 4, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    LOVE this post. I do the exact same thing, “I should post about this ladle!” Haha. Also, the crockpot is definitely very midwest. I bought one when I moved to Illinois and I use it at least once a week.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sun Tea – An Easy Way | Once A Month 4 Ladies - September 8, 2013

    […] I’m from Indiana. We dig Sweet Tea. I dig Sweet Tea. But at work – – there’s no way for me to make a big ‘ol pitcher of it. I decided to make my own individual little guys with none other than JARS! (Something already on my kitchen favorite things list!) […]

What do you think?

