Tosha Gets Lasered! Below the belt! Zzzzzap!

Photo Courtesy: WebMD

Ladies, it’s time to be honest. Shaving sucks. Can I get an amen? (AMEN! – Ahem, that was Kyla)

I know shaving can leave some women’s legs smooth for days. For me – I shave in the morning and I feel stubby by the afternoon. Speed that up if it’s a cold day and I get goosebumps.

Now, I’ll admit that I’ve never had anything waxed – not even my eyebrows (don’t need it). I’m okay with that. To me, why put myself in that much pain only for the hair to grow back in a week?

It was very clear to me what I needed to do … and that was to get lasered, baby! A couple of times getting zapped was well worth it when the pay off is being able to throw that damn razor out the window. Thankfully, I came across a Groupon for laser treatments (about $180). I nabbed that offer right up! I decided to start off small – choosing only to get my bikini area lasered. I decided that if all went well I would eventually dole out the cash to laser everything – from legs to pits.

If you want to know how laser hair removal works – click here.

I initially decided to only do what they call an “extended bikini”, but after talking to the lady wielding the laser I decided to go for the brazilian (same cost). Intimidation? Nah. I was actually debating what I wanted to do. Big decisions since it can be permanent… But I guess I’m jumping ahead of myself…

Night Before treatment: To prepare for my appointment I was told to shave the area the night before. Easy. Okay, next?

Day of the treatment: I have to be honest, I was a little nervous to get lasered because I didn’t know how much it would hurt and I wasn’t really comfortable showing my hoo-ha and more to a woman, as I mentioned before, yielding a freaking laser. I knew I needed to document my experience and thankfully I have a wonderful friend, Kyla, who agreed to come with me. We thought we could snap a few pics, NONE that were X-rated, don’t worry. However, once we got there, the people in the office told us they needed to get permission and that we could probably take pictures the next time I came in.

Once Kyla and I arrived at the office, I went in to meet with a guy who asked me a series of questions about my health and what not. From there, I signed some papers and started to hyperventilate in the waiting room. I’m kidding about the hyperventilation. (Sort of.)

We walked into a small room with a bed you find in your typical doctor’s exam room, the one with the white paper. And as you would at your gynocologist’s office (take a look at one of our old lady confessions about gynos by clicking here), a lady asked me to take off everything from the waist down. GULP. The door closes and I immediately start to say, “ohmygosh, ohmygosh, ohmygosh” all while Kyla, very sweetly, tried to calm me down.

The treatment: There I sat on the bed with a little blanket draped across my lap. The laser woman (I don’t know what to call her. Was she an actual doctor? I don’t know) walks into the room and hands Kyla, who is sitting at the foot of the bed, and myself crazy looking glasses to wear during the procedure. She then peels back the blanket. That’s the moment Kyla and I became special friends. 

I’ll let Kyla describe what everything looked like because honestly I was not focused on any of that. I couldn’t even tell you what the machine even looked like. Besides, Kyla had a front seat view to the action.

Kyla: Well as my newly called “Special Friend” and I got in the room and Tosha was taking off her pants I knew I wasn’t going to follow the rules of no pictures. People need to know!!! Here’s what the actual machine looked like. If you take a look at the photo, the white handle looking thing on the left of the machine is the actual part that shoots out a light. It looks kind of like a gas pump handle without the trigger part? Maybe? Either way, it’s not scary. There’s no sharp objects poking out, chainsaw attached, or suction cup that’s going to suck your female goods out of your vag hole. It’s simple, we promise. Or at least I do because Tosha’s butt was sticking to the paper she was so nervous.

What does it feel like? I am sure that is the first question that popped into your head. Well, it doesn’t feel good, but it also doesn’t hurt like hell either. The best way to describe it is like this – you know when you are outside in the winter and your hands get SUPER cold. Then you go inside and run them under hot water. It hurts, stings, whatever – it just doesn’t feel good. That’s what the laser treatment feels like BUT it’s REALLY quick. The laser isn’t continuous. It comes in short bursts while the lady pulls the trigger. It makes a popping noise. Some areas hurt more than others.

How much is exposed? A LOT. I was completely exposed from my belly down. I was first asked to bend my left knee and place my foot on the side of my right knee. That…well…opens things up. Then I switched. I got over the discomfort really fast as Kyla, the doc, and I chatted and joked about things to get my mind off of it. The awkward part came when we had to do step two of the brazilian…the backside. The doc asked me to roll over on my stomach…and well spread ’em. That’s right. You get the picture. During that part, I asked Kyla to not look. At that point she had already seen a lot more of me than she bargained for, so I guess the butt didn’t matter much, but still, I asked regardless. I had to keep some things to myself 🙂

Kyla: Wait – – here’s a shocker, I HAVE A VAGINA TOO! Woooo! Haha. Okay Okay, this wasn’t like I was watching like some sort of TV Show. Once I saw how things worked it wasn’t about checking out Tosha’s goods. Haha, I think her paranoia got the best of her.  But even during the lasering, there were no HOLES exposed (Tosha: yes, yes there were. To the doc but not to you apparently). It wasn’t like me or the laser woman (from space! So much cooler to be from space then the doctors office) could see any of Tosha’s interiors (Tosha: again – yes, she could!). The positions the laser woman was putting Tosha into were subtle (Tosha: no – ha! See above). The laser has a wide light, like the size of a quarter. So it seemed to get into places that the laser woman didn’t have to personally do. She wasn’t spreading Tosha’s Vag lips or anything. Didn’t need to. The light did all the work! (Tosha: No, she didn’t have to spread anything because everything was spread already! She saw more than you think, missy!)

How long does it last? It is FAST. The whole procedure took about 15 minutes? I was in and out.

Wrapping things up: After the doc finished lasering the area, she told me to apply hydrocortisone cream to the area to help with the itching. Trust me, DON’T skip this part. You’ll regret it. 

Kyla: Maybe consider bringing your own. They had a bottle in the room and since it was the first time, Tosha went for it. But now we know, take your own. The idea that people are rubbing that all over their “hairy” parts, kinda freaked me out. You don’t know how much they double dipped!

Results: Well, I am a BELIEVER! I was a little skeptical after reading about women who did not get the results they wanted. For me, I saw instant results. You are supposed to go in for a total of six treatments spaced every five weeks apart to eliminate all of the hair. However, for me – I have seen changes after only one treatment. When I shave my bikini area, I don’t have any hair growth until a week later. And BYE BYE razor bumps! I don’t have any irritation when I do shave. SCORE! That alone is life-changing.

Recommendation? DO IT! Plain and simple. I can’t wait to laser everything!

How do men feel about hair down THERE? Click here.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Beauty, Lady Talk Forum, Spill It: Confessions, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

18 Comments on “Tosha Gets Lasered! Below the belt! Zzzzzap!”

  1. eadouglas
    November 30, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    I’ve been considering lazer hair removal for a while now, thanks for this detailled and honest (but not TMI) post!

    • December 3, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      Go for it! Let us know how it works for you!

  2. December 1, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    On behalf of men, I’ll just say, Thank you, ladies, for what you do to look beautiful for us. We’re just big, ugly hairy brutes, and it does mean the world to us that you’re not hairy like us. 😀

  3. December 1, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Thanks. This article was really helpful. I hate shaving down there and I’ve been thinking about getting it lasered for a while. Now I know its worth the money, so when I save up, I will get it done. 🙂

    • December 3, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      I know it seems like a lot of money but I promise you: it. is. worth. it. I haven’t regretted spending the money one iota.

  4. December 3, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    I’ve gotten this done, too . . . went through the 6 treatments. Yes, it is AWESOME after the first time, because all the hair disappears and falls out . . .but it WILL come back. Then laser treatment # 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 . . . .Once you’re done, the hair still grows back, but it’s lighter and much thinner.

    **NOTE** people dont realize, but you actually need to keep up laser treatments 2-3 times per year AFTER you go through the initial treatment. My last of the 6 appointments was back in June, and by now the hair is starting to get thicker and back to how it was before I started treatment. It’s a bit of high-maintenance, but it’s worth it in the summer!! 🙂

  5. January 21, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    Sooo, its been nearly two months…can you give us an update? Have you noticed much regrowth? have you had to go for another treatment???? Im curious if the results are as good as everyone says….

  6. September 29, 2014 at 5:19 pm #

    Excellent blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused ..
    Any ideas? Thanks a lot!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tosha Gets Lasered! Below the belt! Zzzzzap! | Once A Month 4 Ladies | Living Without Reservations - November 30, 2012

    […] Tosha Gets Lasered! Below the belt! Zzzzzap! | Once A Month 4 Ladies. […]

  2. Friday DIY: Brazilian Wax | Once A Month 4 Ladies - January 18, 2013

    […] no strangers to talking about grooming below the belt, so it’s no surprise that we’d share someone else’s tale of at-home brazilians! […]

  3. Lady Confessions: Fire the Lasers! Zzzzzap! | Once A Month 4 Ladies - April 4, 2013

    […] is well worth it when the pay off is being able to throw that damn razor out the window. When I got laser hair removal, I decided that if all went well I would eventually dole out the cash to laser everything – from […]

  4. Laser Hair Removal Update | Once A Month 4 Ladies - April 18, 2013

    […] while back I wrote about my first experience with laser hair removal. If you didn’t catch it – click here. We recently posted a Ladies Confession about the topic, too. Check that one out by clicking […]

  5. Summer Beauty Tips from The Princess | Once A Month 4 Ladies - June 5, 2013

    […] like me – you then have to battle razor bumps. I recommend getting lasered, baby! Click here for a post about my experience getting zapped below the belt. I have been getting laser hair […]

  6. I Was Never Into Pageants. Ever. | Once A Month 4 Ladies - September 10, 2013

    […] to Color Your Legs to Not Look Pasty Make Your Hair Look Extra Fluffy Borrow Some Fancy Dresses Zap Your Naughty Parts Zap Your Other Body […]

  7. I Witnessed the Birth of a Human. | Once A Month 4 Ladies - September 18, 2013

    […] so honored they gave me the opportunity. Now I wasn’t at the foot of the bed like I was for Tosha’s Lazerin’. I was up top and didn’t see (nor did I want to see) any of Sam’s goodies. That’s […]

  8. Another Laser Hair Removal Update | Once A Month 4 Ladies - January 21, 2014

    […] haven’t been following my laser hair removal journey, you can check out my first post about getting zapped dooooown there and my second post about laser hair removal on my […]

What do you think?

