Vegetarian Challenge Day 6 & 7: Tortilla Soup

On Saturday, I went up to wine country with a group of friends so I was unable to cook anything for you! But it was my first challenge at finding vegetarian food on-the-go! Let me tell you, it is NOT FUN walking into an Arby’s when you aren’t eating meat. That sucked because I love their chicken, bacon, and swiss so very very much.

Bryce’s vegetarian challenge

Day 6!

Breakfast:
English muffin with jam

2nd Breakfast:
Egg, cheese, and hash brown breakfast burrito

Lunch:
Sliced cheese, bread, and potato chips (they had a sandwich platter for everyone when we did wine tastings and this all I was able to consume)

Dinner:
A handful of cashews & a couple of Halloween Oreos (I got a little too intoxicated and fell asleep before I could eat a proper dinner)

Day 7!

This was the first day since the start of the 2-week challenge that I really craved meat. Specifically a bacon cheeseburger. I was watching TV and one popped up on the screen. I thought to myself “Damn! That looks super tasty.” I think that is the most difficult part of giving up meat. I can think of a ton of different tasty things that I could eat around the house that are meat-free, but as soon as I see someone dig into a dish that I would normally order, I want to quit and spend the day eating bacon.

Breakfast:
Belgian waffle and scrambled eggs

Lunch:
Veggie burger and sweet potato fries

Dinner:
Tortilla Soup!

Tortilla Soup

This is a modified version of a recipe that I love to make, which I found through ExerciseTV & Cindy Whitmarsh. It normally calls for shredded chicken and chicken broth, but I just took out the chicken and switched to vegetable broth

Ingredients

Serves 6

  •  3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 8 C broth (low sodium)
  • 1 can garbonzo beans
  • 1 can corn
  • 1/2 can diced or crushed tomoatoes
  • 2 oz diced chilies (I actually get a 10oz can of Rotel diced tomatoes and green chilies, so its one less thing to buy)
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 2 dashes of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 bunch of cilantro
  • 1/2 cup fat-free shredded cheese
  • Sour cream, optional
  • Tortilla chips, optional

Directions

  1.  In a skillet, put garlic, onions, and olive oil on low heat to simmer for five minutes.
  2. In a crock pot or large pot for the stove, add broth, garbanzo beans, corn, diced tomatoes, cumin, chili powder, a dash or two of salt, Worcestershire sauce, and chilies. Then add the garlic and onions from the skillet. Lastly, add the cilantro. Boil with lid on for about 5-8 minutes.
  3. Turn down the stove and let simmer for an additional 10-15 minutes.
  4. To serve, put cheese on top and pour a little broth on top to melt. For added flavor top with a dollop of sour cream and a handful of crushed tortilla chips.

xo,
Bryce

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Lady Talk Forum, The Spread (Food), Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Vegetarian Challenge Day 6 & 7: Tortilla Soup”

  1. November 12, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Tortilla soup sounds great!

  2. November 13, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    Going vegetarian would definitely be a challenge for me – I love my veggies & carbs with a big ol’ hunk o’ meat. But your daily meals sound delicious – especially dinner from Day 6 😉 oh, and the tortilla soup too of course!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegetarian Challenge Day 8: Frittatas | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 14, 2012

    […] Lunch: Leftover tortilla soup […]

What do you think?

