Ask XY: What’s your number?

How many girls have you had sex with? Do you feel like it’s better
to have a high number or a lower one?

Mr. V – I have no clue what my number is at this point.  I feel like the number thing is ok to be high if you use protection all the time.  Some people are just more sexual than others. 

Mr. W –  I’ve had sex with nine women, and I would say the only real bonus to having a higher count would be the sexual experience you bring into the next sexual outing. Granted, more sexual partners can also mean more unwanted side effects in some cases, but I should be more about the quality of the sex and the memories around it than trying to play Whack-a-Vag with your humpstick.

Mr. X – Eight.  The number doesn’t matter.  It only takes one to get the herp.

Mr. Y – I have had sex with less than ten, but more than one.  I feel like it’s not really a great goal to go and try and rack up a bigger number, but I also think if it’s what happens, fine.  Those who went to college understand.

Mr. Z – Honestly … no idea.  15?  25?  I made my mind up that is was lame to count. As you get older your number gets higher – but what does it even mean?  It doesn’t feel better to have a higher number but guys always have a smile on their face after they have had sex.  Guys love sex.  As a guy I would rather have a hookup partner friend then hookup with tons of randoms.  That said, I haven’t had too many of those but in theory – it sounds awesome. 

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Ask XY, Q & A, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Ask XY: What’s your number?”

  1. November 12, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    I think the obsession with numbers is symptomatic of larger problems with society and how it teaches people to deal with sex. We focus on really shallow aspects of the experience when, ultimately, sex is not only better but completely different when it occurs with someone you trust in a loving situation. While men do think about sex more often, and seem to be less in control of this urge, I often find myself wondering if this too is something created by society. We create standards for each other, and then point fingers when people live up to them. It reminds me of the phrase “the subtle racism of lowered expectations.” Is this not sexism? Are guys selling themselves short by believing they have no control of their urges, or am I being naive?

  2. November 12, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    My husband’s number is 2 more than mine and he’s 2 years older than me. I feel like we’re pretty even and I am happy that his number isn’t too high, but he has some experience. He said my number was higher than he expected (since I look super innocent), but he seems fine with it (and it’s under 10). Personally I feel like if the number is too high it makes sex seem less special, like you’ll do it with anyone so I’m just one of the masses. But, as you get older then your number often rises. If I had been older when I met my husband I’m sure I would have added at least a few more notches to the proverbial bedpost.

  3. November 17, 2012 at 4:49 am #

    @ponderingspawned: “sex is not only better but completely different when it occurs with someone you trust in a loving situation”
    Yes. Definitely.
    My wife’s number (not that she’s given me a precise number, but I have an idea) is enough for her to know what wasn’t good enough by the time she met me. And vice versa.

What do you think?

