Meat No More

After seeing the documentary “Food Inc.” I have floated the idea of trying to go vegetarian, mostly because of the environmental impact of industrial farming. I’ve thought to myself “It can’t be THAT difficult! I could TOTALLY be a vegetarian!” But then I think about turkey burgers, chicken parmigiana, and most importantly, bacon and I realize, it would probably be at least a little difficult.

Thus, I decided to set up a little challenge for myself and blog about my experience. I’m going to be a vegetarian for 2 weeks. It’s not long, but a length I know I can accomplish and long enough for me to find some new recipes to post for all of you who are considering reducing your meat intake. The guidelines are as follows: don’t eat anything that, at one point, had a face. Meaning, I can still eat eggs, but I will make every effort to buy cage-free or free range, so I know those chickens were at least able to spread their wings a bit.

There are plenty of days that go by where I eat vegetarian for breakfast and lunch without even trying, but come dinner, I’m craving something hearty and meat-filled. So it’s just a matter of finding some new recipes or vegetarian substitutions.

I could easily subsist on a diet of spaghetti and pb&j sandwiches, but that wouldn’t be a very well-rounded diet. So to help me on this quest, I contacted a few vegetarian friends for suggestions and recipes that went beyond “just replace meat with tofu.” I HATE TOFU! Not matter what you cook it in, it tastes like a sponge. Even if you cook it in a tasty sauce, it’s just a sauce flavored sponge to me. Pad Thai being the one exception to this rule, usually because it’s diced up pretty small and pad thai is awesome.

So starting Monday November 5th, I’ll be posting recipes that fit the criteria and I deemed “tasty.” I’ll also provide a little portrait of the things I ate to show you how easy (or difficult) it is to be vegetarian. And lastly, I will share any noticeable changes to my body (i.e. feeling different or weight loss/gain). Wish me luck!!

If you have any favorite vegetarian recipes you’d like me to try out, send them to onceamonth4ladies@gmail.com!

xo,
Bryce

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Healthy Livin', Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

27 Comments on “Meat No More”

  1. November 2, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    I am a semi-vegetarian and have been slowly introducing my carnivorous boyfriend to meat-free food for a few years. His trick – don’t think “burger” when eating a Boca/Garden/alternative burger (and so on), because the veggie version will never taste exactly like the meat version 🙂
    Good luck!

  2. November 2, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    Great blog! And well done you on the 2 week vegetarian challenge. I used to hate Tofu, but there is a way to cook it that I feel sure will help you like it, so I’ll add it to my blog in the next few days for you http://kateswaffersrecipeblog.wordpress.com/

    • November 5, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

      I am going to read your blog and check out your recipes! You’ve got some that sound really tasty!

  3. sheargeniousfashioneasta
    November 2, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    I say eat what you love. There is something in everything that they say is harmful in one form or another. From hairsprays to cleaners to air fresheners, sweets, fruits, vegetables, soft drinks, bottled water, face cream, make-up so forth and so on clear down to the air we breath. Be happy, enjoy life and whatever will be will be…if that is the case stay out of the fast food and restaurants and public restrooms…there is disease and germs lurking in every corner. Heck, even people and pets carry things…we bring things in the home on our shoes, our dead skin flakes in our bed, along with body secretions; we breath on people, they breath on us, and we touch stuff after they touch stuff spreading all sorts of disgusting things….we live in a world of pesticides, herbicides…it’s a germicidal territory. Live, laugh, love and eat! Smiles…and wash your hands!

  4. A Dog With Fleas
    November 2, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Good luck on this. Something I’ve been thinking about to, so can’t wait to read your recipes and follow your journey. And agree about the Tofu tasting like a sponge analogy. Maybe I just haven’t found the right recipe for it, but to me it should be banned from the planet! 🙂

  5. amommys2cents
    November 3, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    Me and my husband tried being vegetarian. It lasted for a week and half haha! We tried doing the mushroom burgers which we were promised would be a great beef substitute…they made me gag. I just can’t eat that much thick mushroom 😛

    But we did keep one recipe from it, a meatless enchilada/burrito that is yummy! And we eat much less red meats and much more chicken and fish.

    • November 5, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

      That enchilada sounds good! Do you have a recipe for it that you can send to onceamonth4ladies@gmail.com? I’d love to try it out!

      • amommys2cents
        November 6, 2012 at 9:36 am #

        Yes, I will email it to you!

  6. November 3, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Nice intro to your upcoming stab at vegetarianism – I look forward to reading more. I’m not sure I could do it, truthfully. I do love a burger, at least now and then, and turkey, and fish . . . Ha ha. Maybe you shouldn’t read the comments as you’re doing this. Anyway, I’m curious if anyone has ever tried all the Asian meat substitutes. Some of the Asian stores in our region offer quite a few, but I haven’t invested the money into trying any of them – like meat-free ham and such.

    • November 5, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      I haven’t tried any of the Asian meat substitutes (unless tofu counts but I don’t think that’s what you mean) but I think I’m going to try various nationalities of food that do vegetarian better, like Indian food. I’ll be sure to see what options Asian cuisine has to offer.

      • November 6, 2012 at 9:21 am #

        One spice I really like is Phuket green curry from Thailand (it’s hot) – with coconut milk. You can buy powdered coconut milk in the Asian stores too. Like the other curries, it’s really great with chunks of vegetables (though I usually add chicken or pork) and fragrant basmati rice.

  7. Sarah G
    November 5, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    what about dairy? giving up the cheese?

    • November 5, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

      Nope. Dairy can stay. Can’t live without milk and cheese. I would FAIL at being a vegan.

  8. March 2, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    I would encourage you to also watch “Forks Over Knives” and “The Perfect Human Diet.”

  9. March 12, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

    Nicely done on the two week veggie binge. They look like delicious recipes and great meals!
    I wonder if you can do it again next year? Or even every six months? Or have you considered Meat Free Mondays?

    Sorry I don’t have any favourite recipes. I tend to stick to stir-fried rice dishes and just alter the veggie content; the difference is that I used a lot of brown and black rice. If showing off I’ll add more chickpeas, lentils, or split peas, and Indian spices, especially turmeric. Two hints though:

    1.) check out recipes and rationale suggested by Brendan Brazier:
    http://myvega.com/

    2.) the idea of growing a vegetarian bone in your body is a very, very smart one:
    http://www.worldwatch.org/files/pdf/Livestock%20and%20Climate%20Change.pdf

    • March 12, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

      Awesome! I’ll check those out. I’ve been trying to change my diet lately and there will be another post coming soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegetarian Challenge Day 1: Spiced Apple and Butternut Squash Soup | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 6, 2012

    […] recipe from the previous day’s menu to share with you all that meets all the requirements of the challenge. There will be a quick log of what I ate (so you know that I’m not cheating) and then […]

  2. Vegetarian Challenge Day 2: Spaghetti al Limone | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 7, 2012

    […] Bryce’s vegetarian challenge […]

  3. Vegetarian Challenge Day 4: Pad Thai with Tofu | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 9, 2012

    […] Bryce’s vegetarian challenge […]

  4. Vegetarian Challenge Day 5: Baked Mac & Cheese | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 10, 2012

    […] Bryce’s vegetarian challenge […]

  5. Vegetarian Challenge Day 6 & 7: Tortilla Soup | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 12, 2012

    […] Bryce’s vegetarian challenge […]

  6. Vegetarian Challenge Day 8: Frittatas | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 14, 2012

    […] Bryce’s vegetarian challenge […]

  7. Vegetarian Challenge Day 9: Veggie Stir-fry | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 14, 2012

    […] Bryce’s vegetarian challenge […]

  8. Vegetarian Challenge Day 10: Quinoa Stuffed Peppers | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 16, 2012

    […] Bryce’s vegetarian challenge […]

  9. Vegetarian Challenge Day 11 & 12: Meatless Enchiladas | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 20, 2012

    […] Bryce’s vegetarian challenge […]

  10. Vegetarian Challenge Day 13 & 14: Veggie Nachos & Szechwan Stir-fry | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 21, 2012

    […] Bryce’s vegetarian challenge […]

  11. Meat No More Follow-Up | Once A Month 4 Ladies - March 26, 2013

    […] Vegetable, Miracle and The Omnivore’s Dilemma. Several months ago, I tried a 2 week vegetarian challenge just to see if I could do it. I admit, I didn’t really notice much of a difference in how I […]

What do you think?

