Bryce’s Halloween Costume: Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games)

If you’ve been a follower of this blog for any stretch of time, you’ll probably remember a little article that I wrote about how much I love Katniss Everdeen of The Hunger Games books/movie. For a while now I planned on dressing up as her for halloween. Given that her main attributes are the side braid and bow & arrow, putting this get-up together was not very difficult. 

Step 1: Changing my hair color.
I dye my hair pretty regularly and often a different shade so going darker wasn’t that big of a deal for me. For those of you out there who don’t wish to make such a permanent change, buy a black wig with some length to it.

Step 2: Get the right outfit.
Katniss wears basic clothing items that can be found in any thrift store. I wore a plain black v-neck t-shirt and black hoodie that I already owned and went looking for the right jacket, pants, and boots. The boots were the most expensive item that I shelled out for, but I found them at Marshall’s for half off and I plan to keep them as part of my normal shoe collection. The jacket I found at a thrift store! It had the proper length and shininess I was looking for. No dice on the pants however. It is very difficult to find olive green cargo pants for women. The color is available, but not the right style. Cargo pants with the leg pockets are generally reserved for men. Conveniently, I live with a man who has neglected to go through his wardrobe and I stumbled across a pair that my husband has owned since high school. They were tight and short, but they would do the job! Also, I picked up a roll of cheap bright orange Duck brand duct tape to add a little detailing to the jacket.

Step 3: Make a quiver and arrows.
I opted for just the arrows and quiver and no bow. I’m going to a party and I’ll be eating and drinking, so I want my hands free. Making a bow that will likely be sitting in a corner all night seemed like more effort than it was worth, cuz I’m guessing that it’s construction would have been a challenge. But walking around with a bunch of arrows strapped to my back will get the visual across. The quiver was very easy. I emptied out a poster tube I had laying around and covered it in black construction paper, then added the stripes with white paper. I strung two belts together and ran it through the length of the tube in order to strap the quiver to my back. 

We bought a bag of small wooden dowels  and a bag of quill-style feathers at Michaels, our preferred craft store. I cut the feathers length wise then cut those into smaller sections before hot glueing them to the dowels, 3 to a stick. Stuffing the poster tube with newspaper helped to keep the “arrows” balanced at the top. I then shoved the arrows into a piece of wet foam that I cut to fit the tube, which helped prevent them from rattling around.

Step 4: Braids.
Lucky for me, my parents were in town! I don’t know how to french braid my own hair and doing it from one side of your head to the other seemed that much harder. So I did what most kids do and asked my mom to braid my hair! There are plenty of pictures on the internet that give you a good view of her entire head. We also had the movie playing in the background! You know, for “research purposes.”

You will notice one glaringly obvious accessory missing from my wardrobe: the mockingjay pin. I’d like to say that I didn’t wear it because, in the movie, it’s tucked on the inside of her jacket and no one would see it anyways. But the truth is, I ran out of time and would have printed it a mockingjay pattern on a Avery label and worn it as a sticker if I were able. Alas, only one person gave me crap about it, so I felt okay about it in the end.

Excluding the boots, this was a very cheap costume to make. You can probably find a cheaper pair out there or just borrow some from a friend. I just happened to really like the pair I saw and wanted to keep them! All in all, hair dye, jacket, and craft supplies amounted to roughly $35.

Finished product (with my husband).

Happy Halloween!
Bryce

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: DIY, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Bryce’s Halloween Costume: Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games)”

  1. June 27, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

    My sister really love this jacket and she bought this hunger game jacket from http://www.styleforever.net/products/Katniss-Everdeen-Hunger-Games-Jacket.html in good quality leather

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bryce & Tosha Throw Down, Hunger Games Style (…not really, just talking about characters) | Once A Month 4 Ladies - November 22, 2013

    […] I love Katniss. I admire her and fancy myself a little bit like her (delusions of grandeur, I know, but there’s some overlap in personality traits, so just give this one to me). That being said, I have dated guys who were too similar to me (the way Gale is to Katniss) and it didn’t go well for anyone. […]

  2. What’s Better Than Caramel Apple Milky Ways? Putting Them in Cupcakes! | Once A Month 4 Ladies - October 22, 2014

    […] Halloween, I stumbled across a post by Javacupcakes for caramel apple milky way cupcakes! I initial thought […]

What do you think?

