Cream of Potato Soup

We just can’t get enough of cozy fall dishes, from cider to nuts to hearty pot pie dinners.  I’m also a big fan of soups, stews and chili all year round, but making them at home seems most appropriate in fall and winter.   Last week we had some veggies, milk and potatoes that needed to be used up and I figured I’d try my hand at a Cream of Potato soup!

I did some research on Pinterest and used what I had learned making my grandma’s cream of cauliflower soup to sort of make my own recipe.

First I chopped up a bowlful of red potatoes (leaving the skin on) I didn’t measure out exactly how much I had, but based on the size of the bowl I’d guess about 4-6 cups.  I also chopped up 1/2 an onion and maybe 1/2 or 2/3 cup each worth of celery and carrots, plus a clove of garlic.  Now all my ingredients are ready it’s time to make the soup!

Drizzle some olive oil (or melt a bit of butter) in a large pot over medium heat and add onion, celery, carrots and garlic.  Season with salt and pepper and cook for a few minutes until fragrant and beginning to soften.  Stir in potatoes and add just enough water to cover vegetables (around 4 cups).  Season generously with salt and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally, and let boil for 5 to 7 minutes until the potatoes are cooked (soft but not mushy!)

While you’re waiting for that pot to boil grab a smaller pot and start making a roux: Melt 3 Tbsp butter over medium heat, then whisk in flour to make a sort of paste (start with about 3 Tbsp and gradually add more if needed).  To this slowly stir in 4 cups whole milk.  Continue cooking, stirring constantly, until it begins to thicken.  Once your milk is thickened you can take it off the heat, but continue stirring it occasionally.

When you’re potatoes are boiled and tender, turn down the heat and stir in the milk and season to taste (definitely more salt and pepper, maybe some garlic powder.  I like my flavors simple so the potatoes stand out, but if you’re more adventurous go with whatever you like: my boyfriend added dashes of hot sauce to his bowl!).  Ladle into bowls and enjoy!

When I set out to make soup, I knew we had all the necessary ingredients and was determined not to have to make a trip to the store, but if I’d had to buy anything I would have also picked up some bacon to add.  I would chop up a few slices and add them in with my veggies in the beginning, plus maybe fry up some bits for garnishing!

Have any of you been cooking comfort foods or cozy soups?  What’s your favorite soup for a brisk fall day?

Ali

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Lady Talk Forum, The Spread (Food), Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Cream of Potato Soup”

  1. sheargeniousfashioneasta
    October 30, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    Thanks oam! I love soup anytime!

  2. November 2, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    Fantastic web site. A lot of useful info here.

    I’m sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you on your effort!

What do you think?

