Not Guilty Pleasures: I openly admit my love for these alone-time indulgences!

I love sitting down with my boyfriend or sister and watching any of the number of TV shows we all love: from Game of Thrones to New Girl.  Or settling in with just my sweetie for some sci-fi or comedy.  And I love when we turn on a Pandora station we all agree on like Hall & Oates, Florence + the Machine, or The Black Keys

But on the days when I have off and everyone else is at work, I take advantage of having the house to myself to listen to or watch whatever I want.  Here are some of my favorites things for a Girls Day In for One.

Wilson Phillips radio station on Pandora

We’ve mentioned how much we love reliving our preteen years with the Spice Girls Pandora station, but I also like the 80s & 90s ballads and pop of my early childhood that play on this station.  Aside from Wilson Phillips, it’ll play Heart, Pat Benatar, Amy Grant, Tiffany, old school Madonna and Mariah Carey and any number of other ladies that make the perfect background music to my pinteresting, blogging and chore doing.

Bunheads

This ABC Family show skews a little younger when it comes to the dancers’ high school drama, but when you break it down its a show about a ballet school in a town full of quirky people from the creator of Gilmore Girls so I can’t not want to watch this show.

I also believe in putting cheese on stuff.

Hart of Dixie

Ok, I will agree that Zoe Hart is not the most believable of characters, and the story lines are ripe with primetime soap cliches.  But last year I felt a need for a show to watch that was light girly fluff and this fit the bill.  I’d horde up several weeks worth of episodes for mini marathons on days off when the house was empty.

Downton Abbey

This is probably a more acceptable show to indulge in, with all its critical accolades.  I was late to the party – I didn’t start watching until the first season came to Netflix instant this spring – but now I’m thoroughly obsessed with the drama of the Crawleys and their servants.  In the endless wait for season 3 to premier on this side of the pond I’ve spent plenty of Me Time rewatching earlier episodes, or anything else Julian Fellowes has done I have access to, like this spring’s Titanic miniseries.

The cast of Downton Abbey

How about you gals?  What are your guilty or not guilty pleasures that you break out for Me Time?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Entertainment, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Not Guilty Pleasures: I openly admit my love for these alone-time indulgences!”

  1. October 26, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    IThe only sitcom I watch is New Girl! Zoe is so funny and cute! When I’m by myself, I’ll watch the cooking or DIY shows, Investigative Discovery, the History Channel or a horror movie!

  2. October 27, 2012 at 3:37 am #

    I too watch Hart of Dixie and Downton Abbey. A new show however that I’m now obsessed with is called The Paradise. If you like Downton Abbey I suggest you check it out 🙂

  3. October 27, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    “Hold On” make me wish I grew up during the 80’s as opposed to the 90’s. For me, it’s New Girl, watching Disney Movies, watching FULL HOUSE (oh em gee), listening to the Rudy Soundtrack (nerd alert), singing Call Me Maybe like I am Carly Rae….The list could go on!

  4. October 29, 2012 at 7:09 am #

    Watching Television Broadcasts Limited shows. 🙂

  5. October 29, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    I’m teaching myself not to feel guilty about anything that makes me happy. But I think advice columns comes closest.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Goodbye Gunslinger, For Now | Once A Month 4 Ladies - June 17, 2013

    […] but now I’m ready for something different.  I picked a Chick-Lit-y book with a little Downton Abbey inspiration and it seems to be doing the trick, I’ll tell you more about it in my next […]

What do you think?

