Pour some COCONUT OIL on me!

That’s right…go ahead and pour some coconut oil on your body, in your hair, or even in your food. I’ll tell you why, but first let me tell you how I discovered the goodness of coconut oil.

How I discovered it:

I suffer from Keratosis Pilaris  (aka “chicken skin”). They are small, rough bumps on my upper arms and legs. Some people get them in other places as well. It’s hard to believe, but 40% of adults have KP. A whopping 50%-80% of adolescents have it. KP isn’t dangerous and doesn’t cause any health problems other than being embarrassing. For me, I am very self-conscience about my bumps, especially those on my arms. I don’t feel comfortable having people touch my arms, really – and you’d be surprised how often people actually do.

There is no cure for KP, or even a good treatment. I have spent hours scouring the internet looking for the secret to banishing those damned bumps, but to no avail. I have read that KP begins to disappear as people age, but I haven’t found that to be the case for me. The only thing doctors can come up with – keep your skin moisturized. UGH. Really? I do. NOTHING works.

I have tried DermaDoctor’s KP lotion and exfoliators. Each SMALL tube 4oz. tube of this lotion, which is specifically designed for those suffering from KP, will set you back about 40 bucks! The body scrub – 44 bucks. NOT worth it. Trust me. I have also tried heavy duty lotions like Eucerin’s intensive moisturizer, etc. with no results.

Then, about a month ago, as I was doing another round of internet research for KP solutions, I read about a new method … coconut oil. Huh? Numerous people had commented on this person’s post – all saying the use of coconut oil had dramatically helped their skin’s appearance, especially those with KP. Okay, I was intrigued. I went to Amazon.com and viola! Two days and about eight dollars (what a deal!) later – Nature’s Way Coconut Oil was sitting at my doorstep.

First thoughts:

So, I was a little hesitant since I was about to slather on this mysterious oil, which label reads, “Great for cooking!”, all over my skin. Plus, it was a big vat of liquid! I thought that was a little weird, so I immediately started googling it. Apparently coconut oil is easily melted. It melts at 76 degrees. Since LA was being hammered with heat at the time, it made sense that it was liquified when it arrived on my doorstep. Don’t worry, the coconut oil will harden up (and then probably melt again at some point in time, especially if you store it in the bathroom. The heat from showering will soften it up.). In either form, liquid or solid, the product works.

With that concern addressed, I took the plunge – literally. I dipped my hand in and started smearing it on. The smell is really unusual – not bad smelling, just different – kind of like chocolate and coconut! It absorbed into my skin pretty well. Although I was left feeling a little bit oily, but that was okay because I was headed to bed. The next morning I awoke to REALLY smooth skin! And in that moment, I was turned into a believer.

Now I use it every day in different ways. I have slathered it on after morning showers, right before bed, and even poured it into my baths (word to the wise: it can make your bathtub REALLY slippery, so be careful). I also use it in my hair. Just be careful – a little bit goes a LONG way. You don’t want to make your hair too oily. Also, one of my favorite things to do now is oiling up my feet before bedtime and then wearing socks. My feet have never felt so smooth!

My next venture will be cooking with coconut oil. It is supposed to be very good for you. I won’t pretend to be an expert, so you can click here for more info.

On top of coconut oil, I have also started using Grapefruit oil (from the body shop) on my skin, too. Sometimes I will mix them together. Other times, I will wear it alone. It has a strong citrus smell, so you have to be careful when you use it.

(Kyla has her own concoction for treating dry skin – click here for more info!)

Happy oiling,

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Beauty, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “Pour some COCONUT OIL on me!”

  1. October 25, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Thanks for the tip! I have gator legs….not an official term just something I made up because my legs are so dry and nothing seems to work. Definately going to try some coconut oil!

  2. October 25, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Love coconut oil…

  3. October 25, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    Oh my gosh, thanks for the tip! My hubby has the same skin issue and this looks cheap and like something he might actually use. Thanks for sharing!

  4. October 25, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    Coconut oil also makes a great replacement for KY. It’s not messy, its not sticky, it doesn’t stain, and a little will last for a long time.

  5. Little Mrs. Know It All
    October 25, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    I have KP and can’t wait to try this!

  6. October 25, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    Wow great tip! This will be especially helpful when my winter skin hits! I get those bumps on my upper arms, too.

  7. October 25, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    Does cocoa butter lotion count? Works against ashy skin quite well 😀

  8. October 26, 2012 at 12:50 am #

    I also read that it prevents balding in men if its massaged on the head before going to sleep.

  9. October 26, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    I just self-diagnosed myself with KP. I was always wondering what the little bumps were. They didn’t really seem like acne or excema and I was so confused. I am also a compulsive scratcher/picker and I target any bumps I can feel. Bad combination when you have KP!

  10. October 26, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    i’ll try it out…fanx for liking my post too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chapped, Dry, and Nasty Skin. What to do with Winter Nasty. | Once A Month 4 Ladies - February 3, 2013

    […] (Tosha here…just wanted to add to Kyla’s post to tell you something I found that helps with dry skin – COCONUT OIL. I use it everyday! Click here for more!) […]

What do you think?

