Newest Mod Podge Project

As many of you know, Kyla and I both love Mod Podge! You can check out a previous post by clicking here. I have covered plates and glassware with scrapbook paper and pictures, while Kyla has covered a coffee table with pages of a comic book.

Last night, I got busy covering a table (which I actually bought from Kyla when I first moved here to LA and zero furniture). It is a table from Ikea and it was well loved and starting to show some scratches and dings. I apologize for the pictures, they were taken with my phone.

Coffee Table Before

Coffee Table Before

For quite some time now, I have wanted to cover a piece of furniture with black and white photos – and that’s just what I did.

First I covered the top of the table with black and white scrapbook paper. I created a design before applying the Mod Podge. You can see air bubbles in the picture, which I later smoothed out or covered up with pictures.

First apply scrapbook paper.

Next step: I printed pictures in black and white from my home printer. I wasn’t worried about the quality because I like the grainy look. I then laid them out haphazardly on top of the scrapbook paper.

Apply pictures with Mod Podge.

Some bubbles and creases are bound to happen. You can try to smooth them out with your fingers or place glass on top of the finished table.

It’s not too fancy and nowhere near perfection, but I am happy with it and enjoyed the process… I guess that’s all that matters, right? 🙂

Happy decoupaging,

Tosha – The Princess

 

Tags: , ,

Categories: DIY, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Newest Mod Podge Project”

  1. September 25, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    Pretty cool! There are so many possibilities with this. Love it.

  2. September 25, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    Great idea. Would love to try it out myself. Mwinilunga’s antihill burnt bricks houses don’t lend themselves to “class”, but your blog makes me realise one doesn’t have to settle for less. Your idea will be introduced on my next trip.

    • November 23, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

      What in the WORLD did we ever do before ModPodge? Wait. Was there ever NOT ModPodge?? LOL! Love the way your vase tuernd out and a great story too. Thank you for sharing.

  3. kendraalyse
    September 26, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    Now it’s much more funkier and a part of you.

  4. October 9, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    I love it! I bought a dinged up dining table and 4 chairs for pretty cheap and was thinking of painting them but now I might go the mode podge way.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Well THAT Is Certainly Inventive! « Once a Month - September 28, 2012

    […] repurposing it into something beautiful and functional (ie: kitchen chairs we found in an alley or beat-up Ikea furniture that our friends got from their place of […]

What do you think?

