Beauty Review: Mary Kay Tinted Moisturizer Sunscreen

My mom has been a Mary Kay consultant for 20 years so I grew up wearing pretty much exclusively Mary Kay products.  I loved raiding the closet where my mom kept her inventory whenever I needed something new, especially picking eyeshadows and nail polishes from the bin of discontinued products/colors.  Once I moved away for college I had to start shopping at actual stores for other brands of makeup if I wasn’t going to be home to restock and while I have a firm grasp on how to apply makeup and take care of my skin I sometimes feel like an idiot trying to translate my Mary Kay favorites into a product I can buy somewhere like Target.

Since my “look” tends toward the natural, minimalist end of the spectrum its easy to eventually settle on a no frills eyeliner or mascara in my preferred color, but I find it next to impossible to find a product that can come close to – let alone replace – Mary Kay’s Tinted Moisturizer with Sunscreen.  Part of the reason my makeup routine is so minimal is because I am not a morning person and spend as little time getting ready as possible, so it’s no wonder a product like this that basically combines a moisturizer,  sunscreen and foundation is my number one must have beauty product.

In the search for a comparable product that I can buy in stores I found one tinted moisturizer from Neutrogena with SPF, but it was a bit thicker, more like traditional liquid foundation.  While that might suit others, I prefer the lightweight feel of Mary Kay’s (especially in the heat of the summer sun when wearing something with SPF counts most).  A little goes a long way and I can always add a mineral powder foundation for a more finished look without feeling like I have a ton of product on my face.

    XO

   Ali

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Beauty, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Beauty Review: Mary Kay Tinted Moisturizer Sunscreen”

  1. sheargeniousfashioneasta
    September 13, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    Does Mary Kay tinted moisturizer smell good? So many tinted moisturizing products have an unpleasant scent.

  2. September 13, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    I too am a consultant. I have not tried the tinted moisturizer yet. I am an avid user of Mineral Powder 🙂 Thanks for sharing

  3. September 13, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    I used to use that stuff religiously! It worked so perfectly. Now, I just go for plain moisturizer and a little concealer, if I can swing it. I tend to be very low maintenance about my make-up routine. I just had feeling like I’m clogging my pores/not a morning person, either!

  4. September 24, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    I just bought my first tube of this stuff, my mom recommended it to me. This stuff is awesome, it covers well and smells just like sunscreen. It rocks!

    • Dee
      October 12, 2012 at 10:07 am #

      I too love the tinted moisturizer. I have found that sometimes I can purchase them for less on ebay though. In fact, I ordered it on ebay today. It is normally $18 through MK but I found it on ebay for $7.99 (free shipping). I am super excited because my mom and I love this stuff.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beauty Review: Mary Kay Tinted Moisturizer Sunscreen Once a ... - September 13, 2012

    […] Read More: Beauty Review: Mary Kay Tinted Moisturizer Sunscreen Once a … […]

  2. One Lovely Blogger | Sarah's Doodles - September 13, 2012

    […] Once a Month […]

What do you think?

