Football. How does this game work again?!

Alright ladies and gents… as you know some of us ladies from OAM are participating in Fantasy Football this season! To put it lightly, I don’t completely get football. I know the basics, for the most part. But I have no idea how people can retain so much football information, especially with stats for players. Who would have known that so and so had blah blah blah last season… My boyfriend says I’ll learn the information and will have an idea of who is who next season, next season. That’s a year away. I’m playing right now.

Here are the player names I know. Most of them are because A. I’m 50% from Wisconsin and B. I’m 50% from Indiana. Thus when the Colts went to the Superbowl, I watched. When the Packers went to the Superbowl, I watched.

Payton Manning (Got to talk at the Superbowl)
Brett Farve (Who Doesn’t?)
Eli Manning (Broski to Payton)
Sterling Sharp (Silverware, easy to remember)
Aaron Rodgers (Packer. Duh.)

So when looking at computer screen to “draft” my team, I was a little… overwhelmed. The night before I read a little bit of a football magazine. It gave me a sudo idea of what to expect. (Not entirely) I picked guys, pushed the “draft” button… got a few “KYLA!” comments. Guess I took a few good men… And I guess Tosha & Ali did too. At least from the reactions that were received.

Tosha & I are up against each other for this first week. She had some guys play on Wednesday. I haven’t played any yet. But she’s doing pretty good in points already…

The point of this post is, I know very little bit about football and am digging into a world that knows everything about football.

Oh. Crap.

Are you a fantasy football first timer? Do you know what in the heck you are doing?

XO – Kyla

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Entertainment, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Football. How does this game work again?!”

  1. September 7, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    Tosha here….I just had to add something. Kyla is so sweet. Her “smack talk” was the following: “Goooooo Tosha! You’re doing great girlfriend”. Oh, how I love my Kyla 🙂

  2. September 7, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    Love this! I have actually always liked football, even if I don’t have the same level of enthusiasm for it as my husband. This is my third year having a fantasy team and I’m only excited because I lucked out with the first overall pick so naturally, I got Aaron Rodgers. 🙂
    I’m a fan of the Packers and Colts too, though! I have family in Wisconsin and actually only started liking the Colts BECAUSE of Peyton Manning. I adore him.

    I had Antonio Gates and Beanie Wells on my team last year! Be wary of Gates…he had a lot of injuries last year. Oh gosh now I sound like a boy. One thing I like about fantasy football is it actually makes it less boring for us ladies to watch more games. Hope y’all have fun!

    • September 7, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

      Three years! You’re a pro! Haha!

      To be honest, I was like wow she’s talking about two players I’ve never heard of. Yup. They are on my team… haha!

      I’m hoping that it makes it less boring… as long as I can stay awake! There’s nothing like sleeping during a football game. 😉

      -Kyla

  3. Ryan
    September 8, 2012 at 12:33 am #

    Tosha already touched on my favorite part of this post: Kyla’s “smack talk”. If smack talk in sports was actually like that, I think it might work because it would really screw with players’ minds

  4. lwnewstart
    September 10, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    Um….. was there money involved? I am not a big fantasy football fan, but very MUCH a football fan. In fact…. life doesn’t begin until training camps start around the latter part of July. I hope you kick the sh….. OK….. I hope you bruise the boys mightily. (That is if it is a co-ed league…. co-ed….. really? Not really sure I like that way of describing it, but it is better than bi-sexual league. Different connotation completely.)

    • September 10, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

      Haha! Yes it is co-ed and no to the money. Too risky as a beginner. Some of these guys start prepping the season before. Eeish! And thanks for the encouragement. I figure as long as one of us girls walks away as the winner… that’s plenty bragging right for us! 🙂

      • lwnewstart
        September 10, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

        Go git ’em Tigers!

  5. September 11, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    I’m participating in my boyfriend’s family league for the first time this year (no pressure there!) and have no idea what I’m doing. I just follow Yahoo’s predictions for the week and hope it turns out alright. This week I was up against Giant’s pitcher Brian Wilson. Apparently he had some inside beta, because even though I got 105 pts, he still beat me! Follow my adventures over at http://frommyopenwindow.wordpress.com/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More NFL Fun: The Loser Pool « Once a Month - September 11, 2012

    […] than one game on Sunday.  The reason, of course, is that I wanted to know how the players on my fantasy football team were doing.  But our fantasy football league isn’t the only reason I was cheering for […]

What do you think?

