Dollar Store Make Up

I’m a fan of make-up. I didn’t really start getting into it until I was a sophomore in college!!! Late Make-Up Bloomer, I know. Now I feel like I can’t stop! I love the stuff! When you’re feeling down or sick, or just not right, I think putting on just a touch of mascara can make all the difference. 

It’s about finding the make-up that’s right for you. Some may think they need to spend loads of cash for eye shadow. Others are fine with whatever brand. Well here’s my story. I have tried a variety of make-up and believe it or not, my favorite eye shadow was a dollar store purchase. One dollar. It lasts all day and I have gotten more compliments on my eyes wearing that brand than any other make up I’ve ever owned, this is including my Bare Minerals eye shadow!

In addition I have heard  many a women discuss the right mascara to wear. Everyone hates their crying face. It’s all smushed around, crinkly, snot bubbly, and not attractive. Therefore, no lady should ever experience black tears running down her face – you have plenty other face stuff going on. It makes you look awful and feel more awful when the sleeves of your shirt become a permanent home of leftover black tear/makeup and sad memories. Not only am I introducing you to Waterproof Makeup but my favorite brand. It’s cheap, sometimes comes in a double pack, and has worked for me for many years. I’ve heard people talk negatively about it, but I LOVE it. Can’t get enough of it! 🙂 I would say if you haven’t tried it, do it. It’s cheap, solid, and stays on nicely! 

If you have oily face, acne situations, or something that makes you have to use a special brand of Make Up, I completely understand. If you don’t and have skin that can tolerate the masses, give the cheap brands a try. You just might be surprised!

What’s your favorite not-so-expensive make up product?

XO – Kyla

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Beauty, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Dollar Store Make Up”

  1. Bee!!!
    July 17, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    Yeeeeee http://www.eyeslipsface.com yo!!!

  2. sheargeniousfashioneasta
    July 17, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    I have sold Avon and Mary Kay. Although I like some of Avons lotions I really can’t say that these labels or many of the other high dollar brands can hold a candle to “Maybelline great lash waterproof mascara”.I love my $1 face bronze,eyeliner, shadows and $1 powder scent vasaline(Great gloss for my lips). Nothing beats the $1 store and Maybelline.

  3. Shaina
    July 17, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Bee– ELF is a great “cheap” brand. Not all their products are wonders or anything, but it certainly does the job. Their eye shadow primer is pretty good! I also like the make up brushes!

    I’m also a big fan of the Maybelline Soft ‘n’ Full Waterproof mascara. Inexpensive, and really does leave lashes full and soft! I also enjoy the NYC eye brow kit– $4 for a brow powder, brow wax (to keep the unruly ones in place), a small applicator brush and a mini tweezers. LOVE!

  4. NewPhillyGirl
    July 19, 2012 at 3:42 am #

    What about the animal testing factor? Regardless of your opinions about whether or not we should eat animals, use animal products, or conduct testing on them to save lives, it’s pretty callous to financially support the (totally unnecessary, if you read about it) torture and killing of rabbits in the name of vanity. http://www.idausa.org/facts/costesting.html has a decent summary. Google animal testing for cosmetics if you dare, but I’ll warn to you scroll quickly past any images unless you really hate bunnies.

    I’m a pretty cheap person but I switched to Urban Decay, which doesn’t test any of its products or ingredients on animals (http://www.urbandecay.com/Animal-Testing-Policy/animal-testing-policy,default,pg.html). It’s available at Sephora stores, but I wait for sales to stock up and order online (right now you can score their $20 mascara for $12, and so long as you don’t order nail polish or aerosols you get free shipping on orders over $50). I used dollar store products for years (I grew up poor), and honestly putting on Urban Decay products sometimes I feel like I’m at a spa – they go on and stay on where you put them on, and compared to dollar store eyeshadow/eyeliner, or even Revlon, they feel like silk against your skin.

    I challenge you to treat yourself to one order – it’ll be tough to go back (unless you really, really hate bunnies!)

    • July 19, 2012 at 10:59 am #

      Thanks for the links! These are some really good resources and something we should all take into consideration.

      I have some Urban Decay eyeliner and I love it! I’ll check out some of their other products, too. If you subscribe to Haute Look (it’s like a Groupon site for cosmetics and fashion), I think they have their products as part of their sale’s event, so you can get it super cheap. Actually, I think a lot of the stuff that they sell is cruelty-free.

What do you think?

