Why We Adore Jennifer Lawrence

Part 1 of 2 posts on why Jennifer Lawrence and her ass-kicking role of Katniss Everdeen hold a new-found place in our collective OAM heart.

Ms. Lawrence is a good looking chick, which you may remember me mentioning in a previous post. As you might imagine, her figure doesn’t just happen all on it’s own. There’s some work involved in creating a body like her’s, but not by starving herself! For shooting “The Hunger Games,” there was a lot of running she had to do, so there was some intense training involved, which you can’t do on an empty stomach.

Jennifer Lawrence on getting in shape and dieting:

  • “I hate saying, ‘I like exercising.’ I want to punch people who say that in the face. But it’s nice being in shape for a movie, because they basically do it all for you. It’s like, ‘Here’s your trainer. This is what you can eat.'”
  • “I don’t diet. I do exercise! But I don’t diet. You can’t work when you’re hungry, you know?”

This blunt honesty is really appealing to me. Especially when so much of what you hear from celebrities is pretty watered-down fluffy versions of things. But it’s not like she’s being mean! She’s just speaking her mind. Which I love. Girl Power! And come on, how many people out there “like” exercising? I don’t! I hate it! I, too, want to punch people in the face when they say they love exercising or they talk about “runner’s high.” Growing up with exercise-induced asthma, I never ran long enough to get “high,” so I’m not entirely convinced it exists.

And obviously she doesn’t take herself too seriously when she goes on Chelsea Lately and talks about how she occasionally pees a little when she gets nervous. Hilarious, right?! That’s normally the kind of thing people will say when just hanging out with friends and not on television for the world to see. She’s not afraid to be herself and will tell you all about it.

Jennifer also seems to have a self-deprecating sense of humor that makes her accessible and charming. She’ll get sidetracked during interviews by asking where the interviewer used to live in New York, then offer up a story about her old neighborhood in Manhattan. This gives her a vibe of someone who’s easy to talk to. But coming from Kentucky, I’m sure she has at least of touch of Southern Hospitality. Her co-stars, Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth, had nothing but glowing things to say about her whenever they were interviewed about “The Hunger Games.” Apparently she’s very energetic and unpredictable. Well, take a look for yourself in these candid clips of her:

Point being, if I were to run into Jennifer Lawrence, I would make it my mission to get her to go out drinking with me! I’d bet good money on the two of us having a hilarious time together! And if that meant she would then introduce me to her Hunger Game co-stars, then SO BE IT!

xo,
Bryce

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Beauty, Entertainment, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Why We Adore Jennifer Lawrence”

  1. NewPhillyGirl
    July 10, 2012 at 5:25 am #

    Sounds like you two should take up boxing as exercise 😉

  2. July 12, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    I’m pretty sure I love her. I think we should be best friends…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why We Adore Katniss Everdeen « Once a Month - August 15, 2012

    […] of Finnick Odair and Johanna Mason being cast, I thought it was time for me to write part 2 of the Jennifer Lawrence/Katniss Everdeen lovefest. For those of you out there who haven’t read all the novels, I’m going to stick to the […]

  2. Lady Confessions: The Oscars! | Once A Month 4 Ladies - February 25, 2013

    […] Jennifer Lawrence is my girl crush.  I want to be her best friend!  She’s amazing in everything she does, and is such a strong, confident, opinionated young women that she is a great role model for younger females… none of that K-Stew shit… ugh! […]

  3. Dear Hollywood, Perhaps you need to rethink “Beauty?” | Once A Month 4 Ladies - October 24, 2014

    […] that when you’re starving yourself. When training for “The Hunger Games,” Ms. Lawrence said that she didn’t diet, she exercised! But she didn’t diet, and I think that’s […]

What do you think?

