DIY: Chair to Plant Holder/Trellis

I dream of the day when I live in a place where I can have a big garden and grown my own veggies, but for now with our little patio behind our apartment I’ve only really got space for a couple pots of herbs.  My sister also has an ivy that made the cross-country trek from Wisconsin and is flourishing in the southern California sun so I was looking for a way to get my herbs off the ground (and away from squirrels) and give the ivy something to climb on.

Apartment Therapy offered some great inspiration with this bright colored planter, so I was on the lookout at Goodwill and other thrift stores for a chair I could upcycle into a stand for my herbs.  My project ended up being a little less green than I intended, though as it was a new chair from IKEA that ended up in my backyard.  The IVAR chair was in the As Is section so it was already assembled and discounted to about $14. Because it is an unfinished pine wood chair I wouldn’t have to sand it down before painting it.  A tube of blue paint and an old t-shirt rounded out my supplies and for under $20 and just a little work I had a brand new plant stand and trellis for our little patio!

Before

After!

Tags: , ,

Categories: DIY, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

What do you think?

