Supporting the Fight Against Cancer – BALD!

My name is Joy. I am Kyla’s Mom.
 
Although I do not have cancer, many loved one’s in my life have had it and lost the battle, while others are fighting for their life today. I am supporting the fight against cancer, and this is why…
 
My aunt had breast cancer, she lost a breast but she won the battle.
My grandpa had cancer. He went into the hospital for phenomena, the doctors detected cancer. He passed a few days later.
My dad had colon cancer. He is a survivor.
My dad also has skin cancer. He has had it removed, but it appears to have come back.
My father-in-law had cancer. Unfortunately it took his life.
My friends dad had cancer, he fought for many years but sadly lost the battle a few years ago.
My family friend, who grew up with my daughter, had cancer. He passed in ’08.
My sister-in-law just lost her mom to cancer a few days ago.
My mother-in-law is fighting for her life and struggling with lung cancer as we speak.
 
And I’m sure, as much as I don’t want it to happen, more friends and family will be diagnosed.
 
I’m sure like many of you, you know someone who has had cancer. And if you don’t, eventually you will know someone.
 
The facts:
1 in 2 Men will be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.
1 in 3 Women will be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime.
 
 My mother-in-law is our most recent family encounter. She has always been the rock in the family. She knows how to pick you up when you’re down, has the biggest heart, and will go above and beyond to make sure her family is okay. I’ve realized that it’s my chance to support her, to be her rock, and give her a little pick me up when she’s down.
 
I told her that if she needed to shave her head that would I do it for her, and that I would in return have mine done too. I let her know we can walk this road together. Kyla wrote a little piece on her grandma last week about Being Bald & Still Beautiful. In response I knew it was time for me to tackle mine! So Last week, I did it!
Bald is Beautiful. For everyone that has, has had, or will have cancer, losing your hair is OK. Don’t worry about it. Hair is just hair. It may be a part of you, but it doesn’t make up who you are. It doesn’t change the person on the inside! We were born bald or with very little hair when we entered this world and we were beautiful then! Why not rock that beauty out once again?!
 
Keep the faith, have hope, remain to have a positive attitude and enjoy each day to it’s fullest.
Miracles can and do happen.
 
God Bless,
Joy

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Beauty, Healthy Livin', Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Supporting the Fight Against Cancer – BALD!”

  1. May 18, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    beautiful!

  2. monicaali
    May 19, 2012 at 1:20 am #

    You look gorgeous. I like that you did it in sympathy with chemopatients. I find bald heads beautiful. A couple of years ago I kept seeing to pretty & very stylish ladies with no hair. I thought they were being avantgarde, but later I saw them i tv-they were suffering from breastcancer. That is sad, but they looked really good.
    I actually did a post about shaved heads. It happens to be the post that got the most likes & comments so far. So it´s not just me that likes it : ) You can see it here.
    http://monicacph.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/girls-with-shaved-heads/

  3. May 19, 2012 at 2:35 am #

    You are brave, and very inspiring. Thank you for that.

  4. Muthe
    May 23, 2012 at 6:38 am #

    “It may be a part of you, but it doesn’t make up who you are.” I’m really touched by this line

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Supporting the Fight Against Cancer – Bald, Part 2 « Once a Month - June 12, 2012

    […] few weeks ago you heard my Mom’s Story about shaving her head for my Grandma… a selfless and inspirational act of kindness and […]

  2. My Little Girl Yesterday, My Friend Today, My Daughter Forever | Once A Month 4 Ladies - May 16, 2013

    […] is mother to OAM’s Kyla! This isn’t her first appearance on OAM, last year she shaved her head in the fight again cancer. She enjoys crafts, health and fitness, laughing, family time, and warm […]

  3. The Super Hero Squad Returns! | Once A Month 4 Ladies - May 16, 2013

    […] four of us have each been touch by someone who has battled cancer in the past, is going through it right now, as well as some who have died from this horrible disease. Because everyone knows or has […]

What do you think?

