Our Interest for Pinterest


Let’s talk about America’s new drug: Pinterest! It is truly a female haven – and yes, even men enjoy it too!

If you have to ask “what is Pinterest”, then I must ask you: Where have you been living? Under a rock? But for those of you who really don’t know, imagine Pinterest as a virtual corkboard hanging on the wall where you “pin” pictures up of what inspires you, recipes that look delish, and stuff you go lust for. Times Magazine named it one of the top 50 websites of 2011! It’s also quickly shot up in ranking of best social networks, now rubbing shoulders with the greats, such as Twitter and Facebook. Check out even more fascinating facts about Pinterest on Hitwise.

My coworker, Anna, and I were discussing our passion for pinning the other day and I told her I had to put myself on a Pinterest diet. I was so obsessed with Pinterest a couple of months ago…it was hard to get any work done!! Now I limit my intake of Pinterest to once a week.

What do I love most about it? THE RECIPES! There are thousands of delicious recipes just ready to be pinned and cooked/baked! Several of my new favorite dishes have come from the website, including Crock Pot Soup, which I have prepared about a dozen times in the last couple of months. We even used one of our Pinterest discoveries for our first OnceAmonth event, Baked Parmesan Tomatoes!

Just a heads up though – some idiots in the world are taking advantage of enthusiast pinners like myself. Last week, I stumbled upon a recipe I liked. When I clicked on the picture to be redirected to the blog where the recipe would be found, I instead found myself staring at an unusual screen. It appeared to be a page from Pinterest, but I knew something was fishy when it said I could choose between several high dollar gift cards to popular clothing stores. I did some googling before clicking on anything and sure enough – it was a scam. Here is an article I found about the recent scams on Mashable Social Media. So, don’t get too pin happy and ignore your gut!

What do you all think about the Pinterest fad?

-Your fellow Pin-a-holic,

 

Tosha – The Princess

 

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Entertainment, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Our Interest for Pinterest”

  1. May 11, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    Hello. My name is Erica, and I’m a Pinaholic. Truuuue Story.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Once a Month is on Pinterest! « Once a Month - May 31, 2012

    […] no secret that we gals love pinterest individually, but now OnceAMonth4Ladies has it’s own Pinterest boards!  Follow us to see […]

  2. Keen-WHO? Keen-WAH? QUINOA! « Once a Month - June 18, 2012

    […] recipe on Pinterest (you know OAM loves Pinterest – If you don’t know…then click here and here) that inspired us! It started Kyla and myself on a path to one heck of a delicious dinner […]

  3. Pumpkin Spice Kiss Kiss Cookies | Once A Month 4 Ladies - October 30, 2012

    […] our last OAM get together – and they were a hit! I am always up for trying new recipes and Pinterest, of course, is the perfect place for adding virtual recipe cards to my virtual recipe […]

What do you think?

