Lady Feet Protectors. Shoes.

Are girls obsessed with shoes? Are shoes inherently girly or feminine?

A few events occurred recently that got me thinking about this subject.  One was a pin on pinterest.com.  It was one of those ‘dream home’ pins, some extravagant room that someone was repinning to a board full of extravagant rooms they would have in their dream home and in this case it was a closet, and it was full of high heels on shelves.  Now I am right there pinning ‘dream rooms’ to my ‘Home’ Pinterest board, but most of my dream rooms are kitchens and wine cellars/caves.  It happens when I watch HGTV’s House Hunters and other real estate shows, too.  Some woman checks out the master bedroom’s closet and whines about how tiny it is “where will I put all my shoes?!” I’m concerned about where I’m gonna put all my food and wine and honestly, my shoes are probably just going to end up under the bed anyway.

Ok, maybe if I had a gazillion dollars and all I wore were heels and all those heels were Christian Louboutins or Jimmy Choos I would not make my shoes hang out with dust bunnies.  In that case, yes, I would want a ginormo closet that looked like a boutique store that you need to press a buzzer to get in to.  The thing is, I will never be a girl who wears only heels, and I don’t see myself buying more than one really expensive designer pair of shoes in my life (this hypothetical pair of shoes being for my hypothetical wedding) and that’s still a big maybe.

At this point you might be thinking, “well you’re just not a shoe girl, that’s fine, move on.” But here’s the thing, I AM a shoe girl, at least more so than I’m a fashionable clothes girl or purse girl. You want anecdotes?  I have had my eye on a pair of Coach sneakers for years (and I could give a rats behind about anything else in that store).  On multiple occasions for Homecoming in high school I spent more (sometimes double) on the perfect pair of shoes than on the dress.  I would love to have a rainbow of Chucks.  Are you not convinced yet?  I crunched some numbers, if it helps: I own 20 pairs of shoes (not including slippers and old dance shoes, which I will never get rid of, you never know when you might need tap shoes!) and 5 of those are heels.  This is, by the way, after I got rid of a bunch of shoes before moving across the country – I felt that each and every one of those 19 pairs (one was purchased after the move) were necessary and worth the precious space in our tiny Uhaul box.  You want to know how many I wear on a regular basis? Three to Five: Black Chucks, black or brown flip flops, and black or brown flats.  A couple of other pairs, the 20th pair of brown riding boots and some hiking boots, also get a bit of love on the right days, but still I have 20 pairs of shoes and 75% are not getting worn regularly.  Actually 50% aren’t getting worn regularly, 25% aren’t getting worn at all.  That 25% of course, being those 5 pairs of heels.

I can’t recall the last time I wore heels before our move in November, but I’m sure it was a while ago.  I can, with complete certainty, tell you that since our move I have worn heels once.  It was a few weeks ago when we got together to shoot photos for this blog.  I was wearing flats for most of the morning, because I walked over to meet the other girls at The Grove.  Then when we came back to change and take some more shots near my apartment I asked if I should put a pair of flats back on or my black pumps.  Pumps it was, and this was the other event that got me thinking about the femininity of shoes, because for that one hour or so while I was wearing them – posing for pictures and goofing around with my girlfriends – I felt like my girly level was at 100%.

That’s why I have 5 pairs of shoes I almost never wear collecting dust under my bed.  Just in case.  Just in case I want to feel super cute and extra girly.  Because when I put on a pair of heels, even if the rest of my outfit is torn up jeans and a baggy t-shirt, a part of me just wants to eat a Danish while I stare in the window of Tiffany’s or feel the breeze from the subway.  With heels on, I’m a movie star.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Fashion, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Lady Feet Protectors. Shoes.”

  1. Bianca
    April 30, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Hi there… I counted all my shoes a couple years ago…and I counted about 72… I have bought a few more since then…just a few! 🙂

    • May 1, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      Oh my! That’s awesome. I think it’s a lady addiction. I have several, but they are piled in a basket in my closet. I only wear the same ones over and over because they are my favorite!

What do you think?

