Now and Then – When did you hit pause?!

If you’re a lady you know exactly what I am talking about… Now and Then.

The girl movie of our childhood!

4 adult women reminisce about growing up during summer in 1970…

In one summer these girls spent numerous nights at the cemetery, experienced a kiss from a boy, biked to another town and dug deep into their archives for information on a dead boy, swam in a non-populated lake, visited a psychic, stole clothes from boys, beat up a boy at a baseball game, played red rover, watched movies on a rooftop, met a hitchhiker, broke into grandma’s house, got washed down a drain, learned something new about the “creepy guy” in town, filled balloons with pudding for bigger boobs, learned about sex, smoked cigarettes, painted a garage door, was in a balloon fight, and bought one badass tree house… exactly what any of us girls would have LOVED to do!

And since it was unlikely that our parents would be okay with any of this, we watched this VHS tape, over, and over, and over again!

Now let’s break it down and face the facts. As a group, you would watch the movie non stop until you reached, you guessed it, the scene where the boys are skinny dipping in the lake! Some of us paused during the back flip, and others paused when the poor little boy when down to grab his underoo’s! You can’t blame a little lady for trying! Devon Sawa was mega hott! Plus him putting the moves on Roberta… “canIkissyou”! Make a girl’s heart melt you little charmer!

So we got super hott Wormey Wormer, a blast and a half of awesome adventures, and music to sing to for days! I was completely guilty of getting the soundtrack on cassette tape, putting it in my Talk Girl, and roping that puppy up on my handlebars. I also attempted the string connected to my neighbor girls house, until of course her mom made us take it down…

But think of all the things this wonderful movie inspired! Especially friendship 🙂 Is this taking you down a trip through memory lane?

“All for one… and one for all!”

XO – Kyla

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Entertainment, Lady Talk Forum, Welcome!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Now and Then – When did you hit pause?!”

  1. April 25, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    ha-ha that we posted about the same movie! which just goes to show, great minds think alike once again. 😉

  2. April 25, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    “Now and Then” is fantastic no matter how many times you’ve watched it. I used to pause the movie (VHS!) when Devon bent down to pick up his clothes! We actually had a pause button that would shift to the next screen each time you pressed it so we could get it perfectly, but unfortunately it was too blurry to see anything. LOL! Then again, I don’t know how we would have reacted had we actually seen his … his … th–thing.

    My sister and I listened that sound track over and over again until the CD scratched and it became impossible to listen to any of the songs all the way through. Also, my friends and I picked a character we felt most connected to. I was always Samantha. 🙂

    This movie is perfect for a girl’s night, any age! Thanks so much for this post!!!

  3. April 25, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Felicia! I can totally see you connecting with Samantha 🙂 This is one of my favorite movies, and I honestly think I am going to toss it on tonight after reading this! I remember the Ouiji board being very popular when I was young, so the psychic/ghost story investigating was always the part that my friends and I connected with… Great movie! Oh, and I also had the book!!

What do you think?

