What kind of day is it? Hmm, let me feel my legs…

Tosha here – Okay, ladies…it’s time to be honest about a prickly topic: Shaving legs.

The other day while I was taking a razor to my gams, I had a dozen thoughts about the practice of shaving legs swirling around in my head.

First of all, let me tell you, before the age of shaving for me…one of my best friends from across the street came over to play in my backyard. She was wearing shorts and ::GASP:: she was hairless! She was a year older than me and her mom had just given her permission to finally shave her legs. I was sooo insanely jealous. I wanted to shave my legs too! However, my mom refused until a year or so later. She told me (just like she did when I decided to highlight my hair for the first time), “once you start, you’ll never be able to stop. It’s something you have to keep up with”. Boy, was she right. I wish I had waited even longer before I started shaving my legs. It’s a hassle, right? We can all agree on that, I think.

SO, hair, or lack thereof, on the legs can give a person a glimpse of where that woman is in her life….whether she was in a relationship, looking for a relationship, or just didn’t give a shit about appeasing men for the time being….whether it was a bad day, a good day, a busy day, leisurely day, or a sexy day…..whether it was cold outside, or warm…

I brought this concept up to a couple of my guy friends the other day and they literally cringed! The mere thought of a woman not having smooth, freshly-shaven legs gave them the heebie jeebies! What? Really? Why?

Let’s admit it. We don’t always feel like taking time to shave our legs! I am famous for the “flip-flop” shave method: shaving the top part of my legs one day and the bottom part of my legs the next.

How do you ladies feel about shaving? When was the first time you shaved? Do you have any funny stories? Let’s talk!

Can’t wait to hear your stories!

Tosha – The Princess

 


Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Beauty, Lady Talk Forum

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “What kind of day is it? Hmm, let me feel my legs…”

  1. Joy Morris
    April 18, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    My parents were “Old School”. I wasn’t able to shave my legs or even wear a smidgen of make-up until the 8th grade! Try wearing “Daisy Duke” gym shorts for P.E. with legs that looked like a blond gorilla. I noticed it more than anyone else did I am sure; only because
    their legs were shaved and mine were not. They could have cared less, my leg situation was the least of their worries I am sure. Yeah, shaved legs makes us women feel sexy, hot and beautiful. Lotion goes on way smoother and it keeps us from feeling like a porccupine. We women do a lot to look good for our lovers. Some men do the same and even go as far as women do in some cases with being anal about being neat and perfected as possible, but some like to pass judgement on those ladies that didn’t shave, pluck their eyebrows, wax their lip, freshen their face with a tad bit of make-up, shave the arm-pitts, color hair,cut it,trim their nails etc. but boy there are some guys that need to step back, stop passing judgement and take care of a few things themselves! Like: Trim those NOSE HAIRS, EAR HAIRS, EYE-BROWS AND LOSE THE CLUMPS OF DEODERANT THAT IS INFESTED IN YOUR ARM-PIT HAIR! Then perhaps you can make a comment about peach fuzz on a girls legs.

  2. Shaina D.
    April 20, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    I love the way my legs feel when I’m done shaving (unless, of course, there is razor burn involved), but I honestly could care less about shaving my legs. Armpits, yes. Legs, no. I do it, especially when I know my legs are going to be exposed, but I always think “Who started this hair removal thing? I hate them…”

    I’m not exactly limber, so contorting myself in all directions to ensure I didn’t miss any hair on the backs of my upper thighs isn’t necessarily my idea of a good time.

    I’ll be honest… Up until like two weeks ago, I hadn’t shaved my legs since Christmas. I did have them waxed twice (form of torture) in that time period, however. In that “growth period” between waxing, I did notice how much it sucks to NOT shave– Having my leg rub inside my pant leg was incredibly uncomfortable and made me wonder how guys do it ALL the time. (But, duh, they are used to it… and explains why some guys have bald patches on their thighs or around their ankles where their socks are. Am I the only one who’s noticed this?)

    Either way, I’m lucky to have a husband that doesn’t care that I let myself become a werewolf sometimes. When it comes to other guys, those ones that get the “heebie jeebies” at the thought of leg stubble, I say, “Suck it– You shave your wooly mammoth legs every day then we’ll talk.”

  3. Beth
    April 21, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    First time shaving? Had to be 5 or 6. My mom ALWAYS left her razor on the edge of the tub-(yes that’s right, nobody locked those up back in the day!) It was one of those single edge razors and I decided to shave my non-existing leg hair. In the process I scraped off a large piece of skin. It started to bleed and I started to scream. Blood mixed with the bathwater so when my mom came running into the bathroom she didn’t know where the heck the blood had actually started from…. Years later I still am not that great at getting the hair off my legs and on occassion have taken a nick here or a slice there….

    I don’t shave as often as I should (could POSSIBLY because of the flashbacks from that 1st time) and there are times that I have not gone to work out because I didn’t have time to shave my hairy legs and I wouldn’t want to scare off other people-but really does anyone really care?

  4. Muthe
    April 26, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    First time shaving? When I entered university. I am very hairy woman >_< (it runs in my family). I was okay with my hairy legs, but then the hair grew like what man has. If I wear shorts, and people look at my leg only, they would think I am a man. i prefer waxing than shaving because the hair took longer to grow. But I am still uncomfortable with my hairy legs, since even in my country (where men tolerate hairy women), I don't know if they can accept my super hairy legs haha. I did shave my legs, but the pores getting bigger, so I stop doing that.

    • April 26, 2012 at 8:58 am #

      I’ve never tried waxing, I just assume it’s super painful! I know that shaving is a pain, and if it’s accepted by you! Take it in sister! 🙂 We’d love to not have to do it almost every day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Another Approach in the Quest for a Hair-Free Body – Epilation | Once A Month 4 Ladies - February 25, 2014

    […] on a quest to fight the fuzz. I am so tired of shaving! I remember my mom trying to talk me out of shaving my legs when I was younger. She said that I would have plenty of years shaving and I wouldn’t like it.(Note: She also […]

What do you think?

