April’s OAM Ladies! Wisconsin!

Meet the Dunbars, Our April OAM Ladies!

 
The Dunbars: Somewhere in between kindergarten and senior year, the 7 of us found each other and started developing bonds that would lead to lifelong friendships.  In high school, it was easy to see each other every day since we shared classes, played the same sports, and went to the same summer baseball games.  In the early college summers, it was easy to spend our Friday & Saturday nights together because we all worked weekdays.  As we’ve hit our mid-twenties, we are all at a little bit different stage. Single with 2 Daughters, Married, Single living with Parents, Married & Expecting, Single living on her own, Engaged, and Engaged with 2 soon-to-be-but-pretty-much-are-already Sons. Our schedules fill up, our priorities are compromised, and it becomes harder to find a weekend that works perfectly for seven gals.

Our most recent “girls night” only worked for five of us, but we went ahead with it anyways, knowing that if we waited for the perfect time, the opportunity would pass.  Kassi recently moved to a new city with her fiancé, so four of us carpooled down to see her new place, tour the town, and raise a little hell.  We decided the only plan we would make was an arrival time (which was adjusted within the first twenty minutes of the trip due to some misplaced keys).  On a whole, our group is spontaneous, adventurous, and we find the best plan is to have no plan.  Within the first hour of arriving in town, we found a winery to mark our first stop of the day.

We LOVE drinking wine together, but this was our first group wine tasting. To put it mildly, we encountered a lot of laughs during it.  (Reagan asked if the wine maker was single, not knowing that she was asking the wine maker’s wife!)  For me, it was the first time I had tried two wines mixed together in the same glass, which turned out to be a good excuse to buy two bottles instead of one. (In all honesty – I walked away with four bottles plus one that was chilled so we could enjoy it outside.)  The five of us finalized our purchases, then split the chilled bottle of wine on a terrace they had next door.  To our advantage, our group makes decisions pretty easily because none of us are picky (hence we agreed upon a bottle to split quite easily) and my friends are some of the most selfless people I know (so we compromise easily even if it isn’t our personal favorite).  It wasn’t a perfect day, but it was Wisconsin-warm (though we were in Minnesota) and the air was fresh.  You just can’t beat that in the spring!

The rest of our trip consisted of singing in the car and playing corners in the back seat.  We ate at an Irish Pub for lunch, had a ridiculous trip to the liquor store and grocery store, lounged the afternoon away in the apartment with constant conversation, and then, true to form, we raised hell at night.

At the end of the weekend, after recapping some of our adventure to my parents, my dad gave me some advice that I think aligns perfectly with the Once A Month 4 ladies. (Brief history: My dad had a group of friends called The Four Horsemen when he was in high school. Dad and his best man, Mel, went the the Navy together.  Harry and Jay went into the marines.  At some point, the four of them lost touch and went nearly thirty years without any contact, save for a Christmas letter here and there.  Recently, they have reunited and picked up right where they left off.)  As I remarked on how much fun I have with my girls and how I always just feel like a better person when I’ve been with them, he said, “Don’t do what I did.  Don’t go thirty years without keeping in touch.”

I can’t imagine living in a world without those six girls/women/ladies/whatever. I laugh more at myself and at the ridiculous situations we get ourselves into.  I cry less when admitting painful truths because I know they are there to support me and we don’t judge. Heartaches ache a little less, the future feels less unknown, and I am comforted because they know me better than I know myself most days.
If you have people in your life that make you feel that way or that you can let loose around, I am begging you – keep them.  Don’t let them go and don’t let yourself get in the way of your own friendships.  Make time for each other because relationships are the foundations of everything else that will be important in your life.  I’ll leave you with a photo from 2007 that I still look at most days.  I think it fits our group perfectly, and I encourage you to invest your life and time into your ‘group’ as well.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Events, OAM Everywhere!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “April’s OAM Ladies! Wisconsin!”

  1. April 9, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    Randi, I have ALWAYS loved this picture! I’m so happy that you all have each other. ❤ Friendships are super important and I think you left us with a wonderful message. 🙂 Miss you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. OAM Ladies of 2012 | Once A Month 4 Ladies - January 1, 2013

    […] The Dunbars: Wisconsin, United States. […]

What do you think?

