Tosha – The Princess

Quote: “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars” by Les Brown
Quirk: I’m a knee shaker. It often gives me away when I am mad or uncomfortable.
Favorite Foods: Icecream and sushi – NOT together.
Favorite Chick Flick: My Best Friend’s Wedding

I was born in Wichita, Kansas and lived there until I was 14 years old. A job opportunity for my father in Wisconsin set my life on a new course – a better course. I’ll get to that later.

My mother likes to say I was born to be in front of the camera. It seems to be the trend of my life, despite my terrible shyness as a child. I started dance classes when I was three years old and I can’t tell you how many times my teacher would yell at me to quit looking a the floor. However, as I grew, so did my confidence. I started taking summer classes for modeling and acting. I even went to a performing arts school in fifth grade, which nurtured my creativity and love for performing.

As a junior in high school at Oshkosh North, I auditioned for a group that took me out to Los Angeles. I was able to meet with agents and managers, but none of them were interested in signing me unless I made the decision to move to Hollywood. So, a determined girl with big dreams made that happen. I moved to LA for the second semester of my senior year. I took acting classes, went on several auditions, and even booked some gigs. However, I knew I wanted a college degree, so I packed up and went back home for my high school graduation. I then spent the next five years going to UW-Oshkosh, where I double majored in Theatre and Radio/TV/Film (where I met the three fabulous friends I am now starting this venture with). Once I graduated, I went on to work at WLUK FOX 11 news. First as a writer/editor and then as a Producer. I have always had dreams of one day being an anchor, but my passion for acting eventually won out. Now I am back in LA with my big dreams still in tow. Here’s to where this crazy adventure may take me!

Why “The Princess”? Well, another big part of my life has been The Miss America Organization, the world’s largest provider of scholarship assistance for young women. In 2008, I was crowned Miss Oshkosh. I spent the year attending several fundraisers, events, and dinners, where I was able to promote my platform of A-T awareness and prevention (go to www.atcp.org for more information about the disease and how you can help). I gave up my crown, but my passion for service led me to another title, Miss Lakeshore 2009. I went on to compete at Miss Wisconsin, where I was a top ten finalist. Even though I am now too old to compete in the organization, I still contribute as Co-Producer/Director for The Miss Oshkosh Scholarship Pageant (www.missoshkosh.com), the pageant that started it all and where my heart belongs.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: About, Bios

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “Tosha – The Princess”

  1. November 4, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    Thanks for liking my blog!

  2. December 21, 2012 at 3:13 am #

    you’re looking gorgeous your eyes are really beautiful!!love

  3. March 24, 2013 at 7:48 am #

    Fantastic site! I’m digging the “princess”. What a cutie! You ladies are great and the site is very cool. Keep looking lovely…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 5 is Talent/Competition Based Reality TV Shows! « thetop5five - July 20, 2012

    […] My guest lister today is someone who devours a ton of it. She is my good friend Tosha Herrman. Tosha and I met in college after sharing a TV related class. We both currently live out LA and both currently work for companies that produce reality TV. So yes, we help add to the filth that is reality  TV. But I think we would both argue that it pays the bills. Anyway, Tosha is one of the foremost authorities* in reality TV . She also is an operator of a blog for women that you can find here: http://onceamonth4ladies.com/ and you can find out more about Tosha on her “about me” page here: http://onceamonth4ladies.com/2012/03/27/tosha-the-princess/ […]

  2. Reblog from ONCE A MONTH 4 LADIES… | thisoldtoad - October 17, 2012

    […] Tosha – The Princess […]

  3. Rent the Runway and Feel Like a Star | Once A Month 4 Ladies - March 29, 2013

    […] of you know about my involvement with pageants, hence the OAM nickname, “The Princess”. I have been involved with the MissAmerica Organization for the past nine years, as a contestant, […]

  4. Summer Beauty Tips from The Princess | Once A Month 4 Ladies - June 5, 2013

    […] some of my favorite summer beauty tips – some old (previous posts) and new. As you know, I am “The Princess” because of my pageant background and my love for all things girly! Make-up, jewelry, […]

  5. I Was Never Into Pageants. Ever. | Once A Month 4 Ladies - September 10, 2013

    […] Tosha is our site beauty queen. (Okay I know that’s the most stereotypical thing to say ever but please forgive me, I will explain myself…) She writes about all things pageant: […]

What do you think?

