Ali – The Wallflower

Quote: “You have to make time, even for something as universal as staring at the stars.” W.P. Kinsella Shoeless Joe
Quirk: In a car or airplane I hate to have the vents blowing directly at me.
Favorite: Gilmore Girls episode: Season 4 finale “Raincoats and Recipes” – It’s my go-to episode when I need a fix and I can’t help but quote the dialogue while I watch like a kid watching a Disney movie.
Guilty Pleasure: Designing bridesmaids dresses (cocomyles.com) and wedding rings (bluenile.com) online, usually totally gaudy and nothing like what I’d actually want if I were getting married.

I grew up in a tiny town on Lake Michigan near Green Bay, Wisconsin with two sisters and plenty of female classmates – I attended a parochial grade school where the girls in my class outnumbered the boys at least 2 to 1, which at the very least led to a dramatic adolescence.  After 8th grade we went to the local public high school and I became a jack of all trades, getting a little involved with almost everything: from tennis and basketball, to plays and forensics, competing at FBLA, editing the yearbook, and producing the morning announcements video. I also learned how to snowboard with ski club and once in a while banged a drum while I hung out with my friends who were in pep band at football games on Friday nights.

When I went to college I left my large group of girlfriends in my small town and moved to a big city (Oshkosh isn’t the largest, but it’s still about 20x the size of my hometown).  There, as a film major, I became one of the “token girls on set” and my large group of friends became mostly male.  Now I’ve graduated and moved out to LA where I’m still a minority on a shoot, still hanging out with mostly guys and still living with my big sister, who works at a hospital out here and aside from our college years has pretty much been my constant roommate.

Even though I like that LA has so much to do I’m still a small-town Sconnie girl at heart.  I continue to miss the local beers, greasy bar food, open spaces, and bright starry sky.  Also, I’ll probably never get used to the water being to the west, or stop seeing it as a lake with bigger waves and better beaches.  It helps having such a large network of friends from college nearby, and a great group of ladies to get together with and let my girly side out.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: About, Bios

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Ali – The Wallflower”

  1. March 30, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    I adored your intriguing site. awesome information. I hope you produce more. I will continue watching

  2. September 6, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    Amen to the water thing Ali. I am visiting my hometown of Chicago and now things seem right with the water to the East. Can never get my directions straight even though I’ve lived in LA for almost three years.

  3. December 21, 2012 at 3:14 am #

    such a cute girl you are!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reblog from ONCE A MONTH 4 LADIES… | thisoldtoad - October 17, 2012

    […] Ali – The Wallflower […]

  2. Hey Gals, Remember Me? | Once A Month 4 Ladies - April 29, 2013

    […] probably see a couple wedding themed ones slipping in there.  After all, it used to be my guilty pleasure to design bridesmaids dresses and browse bridal gowns and wedding rings, now I get to do it for […]

What do you think?

